RSS

The Idol

09 Jan

The Idol

I had just returned from my trip to India when I found an idol sitting in front of my house door. It was made of dark wood with ruby eyes and cupped hands. I had no idea who left it, and living up to my own conviction of never bringing a foreign item home, I decided to step over it as I entered my house.

As a professor with a dream of being a full time archaeologist, I’ve read enough books and watched enough Indiana Jones to know that artefacts belong in a museum, not a home. There are a few reasons for that and one being superstition. I was never superstitious, but I found no reason against being a little careful when dealing with artefacts. After all, curses are real.

The following day, I left my house with the idol still at the front door. I was not going to touch it until I knew who left it. So during class that day, I asked if any of my students decided to leave me a gift. When no one lifted up their hand, I promised extra credit. Still, not a single hand was raised. I admired their honesty but I also hated not knowing the origins of the idol. By the end of the day, no one claimed to have left me the idol and I was forced to step over it once again.

That very night, I could not fall asleep. Something did not feel right and it was churning uneasiness within me. I tossed and turned, and even played a sea breeze track to calm me down, but nothing worked. After an hour or so of attempting to sleep, I heard something that got me to my feet. It was the sound of three knocks on my front door.

Don’t ask me how I heard it or why I got up to answer it. Even though I remember heading downstairs and opening the door to nobody, I still do not know why I did it. I regretted it of course, because that night I took the idol in. Strangely, once it was in my house I managed to sleep the moment I hit the bed.

When the following morning arrived, I woke up feeling rather horrible at the lack of sleep. But I managed to pull myself together as I headed to work. During the first class, I snapped at five students and blamed it on the lack of caffeine in my blood. Once that day was over, I went to bed not at all thinking about the idol.

The next day, I had a meeting with the school board. I spent the whole morning touching up my trip report, but when I presented it, the board was not impressed. In fact, they were appalled at my writing. When I reread my report, I found it horribly written and did not understand why. Did my ‘touching up’ make it bad? At that moment, I could not even recall writing it. I usually wrote my reports way in advance, but this time I don’t even know if I did.

What I was going through seemed rather ordinary when I spoke to a fellow colleague. He said stress had its way of messing with my head, but when I claimed I was not stressed he told me to take a few days off.  After our conversation, I began to ponder on his words. Something was indeed messing with my head, and at that thought everything clicked.

The moment I returned home, I went looking for the idol. There was nothing wrong with me before I brought it in, and the problems only started after I did. I was sure the idol had a hand to play in everything that happened the past few days. But after searching for a few hours, I could not find it. I turned my house upside down but the idol was nowhere in sight. After exhausting myself, I decided to look for it the next day.

Dragging myself to my room, I was hoping for one peaceful night. Sadly, I was kidding no one. Just as I shut my eyes, I was pulled from the darkness by a splitting pain in my chest. It was so painful I literally rolled out of my bed and crawled to my phone. I called 911 immediately and then I called a friend. I told him to come over and find the idol, as I still believed it was the cause of everything. When he and the ambulance arrived, I was immediately taken to the hospital. I don’t really remember much of the journey, because the pain was crushing my insides. All I do remember is wanting for it to stop.

Once at the hospital, a doctor checked my pulse and asked what I was feeling. Despite him repeating the question over and over again, I turned to my friend and kept muttering about the idol. My friend shook his head and said there wasn’t any, but I insisted he was wrong. I insisted until I was deemed out of control and had to be sedated.

One would think that being sedated puts you at rest, but my experience was quite the opposite. I was still in pain, my head was spinning, and there were voices screaming at me. In the darkness of my eyelids, I searched for the idol but it made no appearance. When I finally gave up and prayed for the pain in my chest to stop, a moment of clarity hit me. Was it really all my own doing and not the idol? Just as I was willing to accept any reason for my situation, the pain vanished.

Suddenly, it was all over. Whatever the reason was no longer mattered. Why? Because the flat tone from the heartbeat machine stopped it all. I was no longer living to feel anything. There was nothing left, except for one thought; I let the idol in… and it killed me.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Wrath works like this: First, it finds a situation that agitates you into feeling angry. Once you give in and let anger in, it then finds every opportunity to show itself. The more anger you release, the more it lives in you. As you let it grow it begins to affect your emotions and thoughts, and eventually it attacks your heart. Wrath is a curse that affects you mentally, emotionally, and physically. The moment you let it in and allow it to make home in you, it’s going to take over. To be safe, never let anger in. Just step over it.

This short story is part of my 7 deadly sins series. If you have not read the rest and would like to, visit the short story page, hover your mouse over the titles, and click on the one that says ‘7 deadly sins’.

Anyway, do let me know what you think of this story in the comments below! I really appreciate the feedback 🙂

© 2014 Jeyna Grace

(For more short stories, click HERE)

 
38 Comments

Posted by on January 9, 2014 in Original Works

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

38 responses to “The Idol

  1. francineser

    January 9, 2014 at 12:15 pm

    That was an amazing story. Loved the use of the idol as a metaphor. Incredible, will definitely have to read your other ‘7 deadly sins’ stories.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      January 9, 2014 at 12:24 pm

      Thank you so much! Do let me know what you think of the rest 😀

       
  2. Jenna Rambles

    January 9, 2014 at 2:14 pm

    Great read! Had me feeling anxious the whole time reading it!

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      January 9, 2014 at 2:43 pm

      Thanks! Glad I managed to pull the suspense off 🙂

       
  3. theartistaslisalee

    January 9, 2014 at 2:59 pm

    It was spine chilling. Good job. Gotta read the others…

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      January 9, 2014 at 3:04 pm

      Thank you 😀 Please do! Hehe 🙂

       
  4. Sanika

    January 9, 2014 at 5:23 pm

    That was really intriguing! Looking forward to reading more of the ‘7 deadly sins’ series.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      January 9, 2014 at 5:31 pm

      Thanks! Glad you think so 🙂

       
  5. darkjasm

    January 9, 2014 at 7:29 pm

    I love the metaphor. Anger could put us into a terrible ending. The story is giving me fear, but in a nice way…

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      January 9, 2014 at 8:05 pm

      Thank you 🙂 We often forget how anger can actually affect us, so it’s good to remember it is more than just an emotion.

       
      • darkjasm

        January 9, 2014 at 8:08 pm

        Absolutely… But Anger also made us human…

         
        • Jeyna Grace

          January 9, 2014 at 8:09 pm

          True 🙂 That’s why we must be careful not to let it get complete control over us. Or in better words, don’t let your anger become wrath 🙂

           
  6. famousmangoes

    January 9, 2014 at 7:51 pm

    I love the deadly sins stories. This one was excellent. Poor prof. It was creepy when he couldn’t find the idol.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      January 9, 2014 at 8:05 pm

      Thanks! It probably didn’t even exist! Haha 🙂

       
  7. leslieosullivan

    January 9, 2014 at 9:38 pm

    Great story! I didn’t realize you were writing a short story and was really creeped out until I read what your blog was about! 😛 Can’t wait to read the rest of this series!

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      January 9, 2014 at 9:56 pm

      Thanks! Haha, didn’t mean to scare you there 😀

       
  8. uniquelymeme

    January 9, 2014 at 11:21 pm

    I like this story alot. It really makes you think.

     
  9. A Mint Life

    January 9, 2014 at 11:29 pm

    Wow! I wasn’t expecting the ending… if I were the narrator I would have taken a club and beat the thing to pieces.. also sad that his/her friend didn’t find any idol. What you said about wrath is true… sometimes you have to be the bigger person than it and step over it, but sometimes, even when you know it’s wrong to do so, you go back to it’s place and pick it up and carry it into your heart. Thanks for the story! 🙂

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      January 10, 2014 at 9:51 am

      Haha! You’ve got to find it first before you can destroy it 🙂 Sadly, the idol was never found.

      And thank YOU for reading and sharing your thoughts 😀

       
  10. Shelle

    January 10, 2014 at 4:09 am

    There is just one word I can use: BRILLIANT!

     
  11. Be Blessed Beauty

    January 10, 2014 at 12:05 pm

    Wow! I also thought it was a true story until I got to the end! Anger is definitely a dark force we should never let sink into our hearts. Great read…gave me the chills! Thank you for sharing your work, Jeyna!

    P.S. cool name – Jeyna 😊

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      January 10, 2014 at 12:48 pm

      Haha, I’m really glad it isn’t real though 🙂 Thank you! And I have to thank my parents for that name 🙂

       
  12. reader1684

    January 10, 2014 at 3:03 pm

    Incredible!!!

     
  13. Slamdunk

    January 11, 2014 at 7:43 am

    Entertaining read Jeyna with a poignant message. I look forward to stopping by regularly now that I found your blog. Enjoy your weekend.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      January 11, 2014 at 10:31 am

      Thank you! And have a great weekend too 🙂

       
  14. Karthik S Vailaya

    January 12, 2014 at 1:08 am

    Wow! That is all I can say after reading this short story. Beautifully written and a great way to enlighten people. Just Wow.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      January 12, 2014 at 9:53 am

      Thank you so much! I’m happy you think so 😀

       
  15. Karthika

    January 12, 2014 at 8:46 pm

    brilliant

     
  16. bethxoxdoesxoxbeauty

    January 19, 2014 at 8:35 pm

    Hy jeyna, just finished reading this and it was amazing and like I said I will be continuing to upload my own series and since you are such an amazing writer it would be so cool if you could maybe carry on reading the series or give me some feedback thank a lot! 🙂

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      January 20, 2014 at 8:23 am

      Thanks! Will swing by to check it out 🙂

       
      • bethxoxdoesxoxbeauty

        February 1, 2014 at 6:20 pm

        What did u think (if you have read it yet) ? 🙂

         
        • Jeyna Grace

          February 1, 2014 at 7:25 pm

          I like it short and sweet 🙂 Good job so far!

           
  17. Hasan Qureshi

    January 29, 2014 at 5:17 am

    Reblogged this on The Different Life and commented:
    Food for thought.

     

Leave your thoughts

 
