RSS

Daddy’s Little Girl

24 Mar

He never wanted this for her. He never wanted it for any of his children, but now that his daughter was finally of age, he wished she was never born.

But it was too late to go back now. His little girl has been trying to survive in an arena full of teenagers much more well trained than she was. And as the father of the girl whose late mother he had promised to protect, he couldn’t watch.

“Turn the broadcast off Reg,” he told his son.

“Dad,” Reg replied, not bothering to finish up his sentence.

“I don’t want to watch this,” he said to his oldest son, who went through 6 years of the reaping and was lucky enough not to be chosen.

“I need to know if she is safe dad,” Reg replied softly.

He shook his head in reply as he headed to his room immediately. As he slumped into his bed, he pulled open the side table drawer and took out a stack of letters.

As he untied the bundle, he took the first letter. It was the newest letter she had written to him. And though some may find it odd, but the bond he shared with his daughter was through the letters they wrote each other, which they would slip under their bedroom door from time to time.

Pulling out the brown crumpled paper, the neat handwriting immediately brought tears to his eyes.

“Dear daddy,

Today is my first reaping. I’m scared as hell, but Reg and Rave told me that the odds would be in my favor, cause there’s only one paper with my name on it. So I think I would be fine. But just in case I get chosen, I just want to say a few things.

1) I’m sorry I broke your picking pole. Yes, it was me. I lied to you when I said a dog did it. But I didnt mean to break it though. It was an accident, I swear. I hope you would forgive me.

2) I want to say thank you, for all you have done for Reg, Rave and me. I know I can be stubborn sometimes, so thank you for not getting mad every time I don’t do what you say.

3) I love you so much. And I love writing letters to you, and reading yours over and over again. I know I’m twelve this year and I should start acting my age, but I won’t ever stop writing you letters.

4) If I do get chosen for the hunger games, please don’t be sad. I am fast and I am good with trees, so I think I have a chance of surviving, and when I do win, I’ll come home with a lot of money, and you don’t have to work so hard anymore.

I think that is all. I’m going to put on that pretty dress you got for me now. I know I’m going to look prettier than most girls with the dress you bought. But I think you shouldn’t have wasted money on that, we could buy more bread with the money.

Anyways, I’ll be waiting for your reply!

Love, your only daughter, Rue.”

Immediately, he broke into tears. He couldn’t understand how her innocents could make her so strong and brave for a twelve year old. But as he reread the letter, he could see how alike she was to her mother, independent, courageous and loving. Yes, she definitely has a chance of winning, because she was his brave daughter.

Grabbing a piece of paper from the drawer, he started to write a reply letter.

“My lovely Rue,

I love you so much. So much more than you could ever imagine. I am so proud to have a daughter like you, who is not only as beautiful as your mother, but as brave and kind-hearted.

My naughty girl, I have already forgiven you, cause I knew you broke the picking pole. You can’t lie to me even if you tried so hard, because I know you too well! And I love writing letters to you too. I really hope you don’t grow out of it when you get older.

I know you would try your best to win the hunger games, but even if you don’t, remember that you have made us all so proud of you, not just our family, but the entire district.

I hope to see you soon because I miss you so much!

Please come home Rue. Daddy wants his little girl home.”

With that, he wiped the tears off his cheeks, folded the letter, slipped it into an old envelop, and strode over to his daughter’s room.

While his two sons watched him, he took a deep breath, slipped the letter under her bedroom door and turned to his sons as he said, “She’ll be coming home. I know she will.”

(I watched the Hunger Games today, and Rue’s death made me cry. At the end of the day, I couldn’t help but write something for her. So, this is in honor of Rue.)

 
38 Comments

Posted by on March 24, 2012 in Fan Fiction (Shorts)

 

Tags: , , , ,

38 responses to “Daddy’s Little Girl

  1. On life and stuff

    March 24, 2012 at 4:31 am

    Shame onme, I haven’t read the Hunger Games. But I will.

     
  2. abbles

    March 24, 2012 at 8:29 am

    I love Rue! Great story (of course 🙂 ); I almost cried.
    You’re so good at dropping hints without people figuring out who the “she” is

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      March 24, 2012 at 10:52 am

      I almost cried writing this as well. I really wished she didn’t die.

       
      • abbles

        March 24, 2012 at 11:34 pm

        same

         
  3. Martha Cecilia (Alice)

    March 24, 2012 at 1:25 pm

    I do not comment enough on here. I love your blog and this is a great one shot!! Rue hits me in the same spot that Dobby hits me. It’s that death that makes me want to pick up my bow and arrow (or wand) and head out. Great work!

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      March 24, 2012 at 7:11 pm

      Thank you! Oh yes, you should, I would love to hear more feedback 🙂

       
  4. A Cynical Me

    March 25, 2012 at 5:48 am

    The like button is not nearly strong enough…

     
  5. tomte

    March 25, 2012 at 7:49 am

    Ahh! Prim and Rue are my facorite characters, so naturally I was delighted to see it. (Oh, now I really want to see that movie!!!!) But very good job!!

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      March 25, 2012 at 10:25 am

      The movie was brilliant, you should watch it right away!

       
      • tomte

        March 25, 2012 at 9:35 pm

        Hopefully, that’s happening very SOON this week!!! 🙂

         
  6. Ryo

    March 25, 2012 at 11:23 am

    This is brilliant. Superbly touching. I wish Rue didn’t die. But then I’m torn between that and still wanting Katniss to win. And I know she’ll never hurt Rue if it came down to between just the two of them. Ugh.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      March 25, 2012 at 11:57 am

      Ah, but we can always count on Katniss to play out the game keepers right? Haha! We will never know what could have happen 🙂

       
  7. Kiara Paramita Octaviani

    March 25, 2012 at 11:53 am

    hi, i was wondering if you have read the trilogy? this is a great story, indeed, but actually in Catching Fire, it mentioned that Rue actually is the oldest kid, and she has five younger siblings. just so you know 🙂

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      March 25, 2012 at 11:56 am

      Yes, I read the entire trilogy, 2 years ago, and I didn’t do any re-reads, so my facts are kinda rusty.
      Unfortunately, I didn’t read HG wikia till the end, so I didn’t get her family history right.

       
  8. greyphoenix69

    March 25, 2012 at 1:05 pm

    Well written Jeyna. I am also a daddy’s girl and tomorrow is his birthday. Ever since he died, there was never a day that I had missed him . Reading your post almost broke me into tears .

    Thanks for sharing it with us.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      March 25, 2012 at 1:09 pm

      Thank you! I’m glad it moved you 🙂

       
  9. sharlenehsmith

    March 29, 2012 at 3:22 am

    This is a good piece of writing. It’s my first time to your site. Thanks for stopping by my HP 1&2 entry. I haven’t read THG yet. This Rue character, I get the impression she doesnt last very long. I hope to read more about her. Now that the movie is out, I want to watch that first. The trailer looks great.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      March 29, 2012 at 7:36 pm

      I don’t wanna spoil anything for you, but Rue is a pretty strong character 🙂
      Oh, the movie is brilliant! You should watch it!

       
  10. Fearless Expressioner

    March 30, 2012 at 8:45 am

    One thing I wished the author would have done in the book is give other perspectives of what was going on. This post would have been exactly what I wanted! Great creativity 🙂

     
  11. Jenn Ji Hyun

    April 24, 2012 at 8:33 am

    Rue’s death made me cry both in the book and the movie. 😦 So did Prim’s death. Anyway, you did a great story here although I have to detach the knowledge for a while that Rue was actually the oldest kid and had 5 younger siblings.

    I’m hoping you’d do a love story for Peeta and Katniss. Haha, not that there weren’t enough romance in the books. I’m embarrassed to admit that this is the only “love story” that made me mushy (yeck!) 🙂

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      April 24, 2012 at 4:21 pm

      Thanks 🙂 Glad you liked it!

      Haha, I’ll see if I can come up with something. I think the books already had enough of Peeta and Katniss though, maybe a Gale one would be better? We’ll see 🙂

       
  12. Ivn

    November 21, 2012 at 1:09 am

    So…this is totally fiction? Was it part of d book?

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      November 21, 2012 at 1:12 am

      The book had a different take on Rue actually. She was the oldest but I wrote her the youngest. The character was part of the book, this written event is not.

       
  13. Brad Stanton

    January 5, 2013 at 7:07 am

    I remember when they still had “reapings” in America, they called it the draft. I was in high school in the Vietnam war and worried i might get drafted, so this story and the movie seemed rather intense to me.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      January 5, 2013 at 6:04 pm

      Wow, it must have been scary. I’m now interested in doing some history digging on the internet.

       
  14. food4thesoul93

    February 20, 2013 at 1:35 pm

    A touching story. Very good site, Jeyna! Continued success…

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      February 20, 2013 at 3:01 pm

      Thank you. Thanks for stopping by!

       
      • food4thesoul93

        February 21, 2013 at 2:29 am

        My pleasure. We can check in on eachother from time to time!

        “Skip”

         
  15. seesamwrite

    October 7, 2013 at 3:14 pm

    I actually haven’t gotten around to reading The Hunger Games. But I have watched the film (more than once) and Rue’s death was the hardest part for me 😦 Reading/watching such horrific dystopias sure do make me incredibly grateful for where/when I live though! I cannot fathom having to go through something like that!) Very touching story 🙂

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      October 7, 2013 at 3:20 pm

      Thank you! Rue’s death was hard for me too… I was choking back the tears when I first caught the film. Stories as such do make us grateful that some of us don’t have to go through such brutality.

       
  16. alternativebase

    March 23, 2016 at 5:47 pm

    Good job I love The Hunger Games and I always read the book before I watch the movie so well done!

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      March 23, 2016 at 5:50 pm

      Thank you! So do I. I like to read before watching the film. Just recently, I got a copy of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children because the movie is coming out this year.

       
      • alternativebase

        March 23, 2016 at 5:56 pm

        cool will look for that!

         

Leave your thoughts

 
