RSS

Raccoon | Bento | Adventure

14 Jul

racoonbentoadventure

Pastures of pleasant green rushed by in a motion blur. There were no more high-rise structures and honking cars, only shades of green against the pale blue. It was a gorgeous masterpiece. Even the blotching patches of grey couldn’t ruin its beauty, since rain was never the bane of a great adventure.

“This is exciting, isn’t it?” I asked.

My brother grunted and shifted in his seat beside me. He attempted to find a comfortable position for a nap, and settled with his head buried in his folded arms on the tray table.

“Goodnight,” my brother mumbled.

“Sleep tight!” I chimed.

In wonder of my brother’s constant need to sleep, I retrieved my homemade bento box from my bag. Sticky rice, grilled fish fillet, pickled vegetables, and a side of fresh berries, it was the perfect lunch. I briefly contemplated on saving it for later, but one can only ignore the grumbling of the stomach for so long. Snapping my wooden chopsticks apart, I dived into my meal.

“Are you- why are you eating now? You just had breakfast,” my brother said.

“I’m hungry.”

“Why are you always hungry?”

“Why are you always sleepy?”

“Whatever.”

My brother returned to his nap while I devoured my meal. I couldn’t wait to finish it. I wasn’t starving, I was just in a hurry. I was in a hurry to shake my brother awake. I was in a hurry to hop off the train. I was in a hurry for it to begin.

Who would have thought this day would come? I’d dreamt of it for so long – ever since I uttered my first word. Watching my brother come and go in his adventures always made me envious. Now finally being old enough to join him felt surreal. And there was no way I could stifle my excitement. Unfortunately for me, time was taking its time.

As my brother snored in what seemed like an uncomfortable rest, I stowed my tray table and returned to staring at the colourful streaks. One hour later, I was still staring at the colourful streaks. I knew sleep would speed up time, but my mind, raging with wild imagination, couldn’t shut down. So I stared. Even when the train rolled into a station another hour later, I stared. I stared until something caught up my eye.

It had bristly, zigzag-patterned fur of brown and beige. It was quick on its four paws, and if not for my staring, I wouldn’t have spotted it.

Jumping to my feet, I said, “I need to get down here!”

“Wha-what?” My brother groggily looked out the window and shook his head. “We’re not there yet.”

“I know, but I need to get down here.”

“Sit down.”

I tried to push past my brother, but his broad, hunched over shoulders made it impossible for me to even slip past him.

“Sit down. The train is about to move,” he repeated.

“No! I need to get down here!”

“Stop being a child and sit down.”

“I’m not a child.”

“Then prove it and shut up.”

“No!”

To date, I cannot explain why I acted in such a way. I don’t know why I bit my brother on his forearm, forcing him to his feet. I don’t know why I shoved the stunned conductor out of the way, as I jumped off the train. I could’ve been left behind, with nothing but the clothes on my back. Thankfully, that didn’t happen.

“Are you crazy?” my brother yelled, as our train left without us. “I’m taking you home. I don’t know why I agreed to this.”

“Yea, yea.”

Whatever my brother had to say then, I wasn’t listening. My pulse was racing. My palms were sweaty. My eyes were peeled in search for the raccoon-like creature. And there it was again, its bushy tail disappearing behind a humming vending machine.

“Over there!” I shouted. “Give me my bag.”

My brother stood defeated, as I snatched my bag from him. Whether or not he followed me to the Pocky dispenser, I didn’t care. What mattered at that time was the creature. I needed to catch it.

“Come out, little guy,” I coaxed, as I unwrapped a chocolate bar. “I have some candy.”

Breaking the bar in two, I heard a scrapping of paws behind the machine. I knew it understood me. Placing the chocolate bar on the ground, I slowly reached into my bag once more. While my heart pounded madly in my chest, I grabbed what I needed and cautiously pulled it out of my bag. With the creature now in sight, watching my every move, I had to be careful.

“Come on now,” I said.

I was ready. All it needed to do was take a few steps closer.

“Come on, little guy.”

“That’s not going to work,” my brother said.

“Come have this treat. It’s really yummy.”

My brother chuckled. And then without warning, he stomped his feet and shouted, “Go!”

Without contemplation, the creature obeyed. It darted off in a second, leaving me with what have could been.

“What’s your problem?” I snapped. The sudden lost of hope crushed my heart and brought me to tears.

“That’s not how you catch a Pokemon, dimwit.”

“I’ll catch ‘em however I want to catch ‘em!”

“Then you’ll never be the very best.”

At those words, I held back a sob. At those words, I grasped the reality of my great adventure. Yes, I was only a ten-year-old wannabe Pokemon Master. But if I wanted to be the very best, I couldn’t jump off trains to chase zigzagoons whenever I saw one.

“You done crying?” my brother asked.

“Yea. When’s the next train coming?”

“In half an hour. Are you hungry? Do you want my bento box?”

Nodding my head, my brother and I both agreed I could be a child for another half an hour. But after that, I was going to be the very best… that no one ever was.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Raccoon, bento, and adventure were words given by zoey808. For the record, Nintendo and PokemonGo are not sponsors. In fact, owning a Windows phone has deprived me of the opportunity to relive my childhood. Thankfully, I have a wild imagination and typing skills. Without those two, I would never have the chance of being a Pokemon Master.

Now, it’s your turn. I challenge you to use this same three words and write a piece of your own. I don’t know what those three words can inspire, but all you really need is ‘a wild imagination and typing skills’. I’m sure you have that.

*To download the banner, left-click then right-click to save.

3 Words, 1 Story © 2016 by Jeyna Grace. All rights reserved.

(Click HERE for a list of stories in this writing challenge.)

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 14, 2016 in Original Works

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Raccoon | Bento | Adventure

  1. Sabrina Marie

    July 20, 2016 at 11:52 pm

    Thanks for following my blog! I am now following you, & I am looking forward to reading your blog. 🙂

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      July 21, 2016 at 9:32 am

      Thank you 🙂 I hope you like what you find here!

       
  2. Li

    August 12, 2016 at 2:34 am

    Hey Jeyna, You made my day commenting on my first blog post the other week, just realised you weren’t following me though.. would you mind? I’m following you, it’d be much appreciated https://beingis.wordpress.com ✌️

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      August 12, 2016 at 10:29 am

      You’re welcome! I’ll be sure to swing by sometime soon 🙂

       

Leave your thoughts

 
