RSS

Pirate | Lace | Concussion

25 Feb

piratelaceconcussion

I was eight. He was ten. And I liked him.

“What should I be at the class party?”
“I don’t know.”
“Pirate or superhero?”
“Pirate?”
“Yea, she likes pirates.”

I was eighteen. He was twenty. And I liked him. 

“Which dress looks better?”
“Is it for her?”
“Who else? With lace or without lace?”
“With lace.”
“She’ll look great in this!”

I was twenty-eight. He was thirty. And I grew up.

“Hey.”
“What happened?”
“Just a little accident. I’m fine.”
“Are you really?”
“Yes. Ha! For a moment, I thought I was going to die.”
“Are you feeling dizzy or nauseated? Are your ears ringing?”
“No. Do I have a concussion?”
“No, you don’t.”
_________________________________________________

I was ten. She was eight. And I didn’t like her.

“What should I be at the class party?”
“I don’t know.”
“Pirate or superhero?”
“Pirate?”
“So you like pirates, huh?”

I was twenty. She was eighteen. And I didn’t like her.

“Which dress looks better?”
“Is it for her?”
“No. It’s for you. With lace or without lace?”
“With lace.”
“You’ll look great.”

I was thirty. She was twenty-eight. And I realised…

“Hey.”
“What happened?”
“Just a little accident. I’m fine.”
“Are you really?”
“Yes. Ha! For a moment, I thought I was going to die.”
“And I thought I wasn’t going to see you again.”
“Do I have a concussion?”
“I’m afraid you do.”

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Pirate, lace, and concussion were given by Megan. And as much as they could’ve made a swashbuckling, jolly rogering adventure, I went with breezyonthebeach‘s suggestion and wrote it in the spirit of Valentines. I hope you liked it! This isn’t like the typical short stories I’ve written. I wanted to start this blog challenge light and easy. And, I also wanted to try storytelling through dialogue alone. Fingers crossed this piece made some sense.

Now, it’s your turn. I challenge you to use this same three words and write a piece of your own. Like I said in the introduction, there are no rules – the universe and your imagination beyond is your limit. Don’t forget to link your work in the comments below. And if you have any more three words you’d like to challenge me with, leave it in the comments too.

Also, feel free to use the banner in your blog post. Just click on it and you’ll be able to download it 🙂 I’m looking forward to reading your awesome works! And happy writing!

*On a completely unrelated yet related note, I was listening to this song on repeat while writing this. Not that you need to know or anything, but yea, it might have inspired me.

3 Words, 1 Story © 2016 by Jeyna Grace. All rights reserved.

(Click HERE for a list of stories in this writing challenge.)

 
17 Comments

Posted by on February 25, 2016 in Original Works

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

17 responses to “Pirate | Lace | Concussion

  1. IshLynn

    February 25, 2016 at 12:41 pm

    do we have to use the words in the same manner? as in seperatly or anyway we please?

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      February 25, 2016 at 12:42 pm

      In any way you please 🙂 As long as they appear in the story.

       
  2. thelonelyauthorblog

    February 26, 2016 at 6:09 am

    Bravo. This was a pleasure to read.

     
  3. IshLynn

    March 3, 2016 at 11:31 am

    http://officialafromexico.com/2016/03/02/pirate-lace-concussion/
    sorry late i wrote it a few days ago but it took me awhile to send it through lol

    hope you enjoy it

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      March 3, 2016 at 11:34 am

      Don’t apologize! This challenge is free and easy 🙂

       
  4. Megan

    March 11, 2016 at 4:32 am

    Yay! Mine was used first! I feel so honored. 🙂 I can’t believe I’m just now seeing it. I loved your story. It’s kind of feels like a poem. Now all I have to do is come up with a story using my own words. Yikes! 🙂

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      March 11, 2016 at 9:47 am

      Haha! I had a hard time choosing, but yours called for a special twist 🙂
      I’m glad you liked it. Looking forward to reading yours!

       
  5. Azul Medianoche

    March 19, 2016 at 6:41 pm

    Ha!

     
  6. Megan

    March 29, 2016 at 1:07 am

    Ok, so I finally wrote something for this challenge. I know it’s super late! 😦 You’d think I’d be better at coming up with something for a prompt I wrote. lol
    Oh well. Better late than never I guess.
    https://invisibleworldd.wordpress.com/2016/03/28/pirate-lace-concussion/

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      March 29, 2016 at 9:05 am

      Not late at all! It took me some time to come up with a story too. Haha!

       
  7. bookwormgirls123

    August 14, 2016 at 5:33 am

    What a neat story! I love the unique style and spacing. 🙂
    -Amy

     
  8. monkeyeverythingblog

    October 6, 2016 at 5:38 am

    Enjoyed reading this! I have three words for you:
    Time – Books – Ink
    Totally random, I know. I would love to see what you can come up with!! 🙂 Again, really loved this! ❤

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      October 6, 2016 at 9:47 am

      Love those 3 words! Looks like I’ll be using those the next round 🙂
      Again, thank you for your wonderful comment!

       
  9. monkeyeverythingblog

    October 6, 2016 at 10:39 pm

    You’re entirely welcome!! 🙂

     

Leave your thoughts

 
