RSS

Chapter 28: Cherry-less Sunday

14 May

clubhouse28

“Let me make it up to you,” Zach said.

“Really?” she replied.

“Yes, really.”

“Why do I have a strange feeling about this?”

Zach did not reply. Guinevere could not tell why he chose to remain silent. It was one reason why she disliked conversing over the phone.

“Ok then. I’ll check my schedule and let you know,” Guinevere said.

“Great, I-”

Bang! Her bedroom door suddenly swung open, interrupting Zach in his sentence.

“Who you talking to?” her sister asked. “Is it the guy with the fancy car? I know it’s him. Who is he?”

“I’ll text you later,” Guinevere quickly said to Zach before hanging up.

“Oh, so secretive. You do know you have a fiancée, right?”

Guinevere rolled her eyes and hopped off her bed. “You won’t like this guy. He’s poor and that wasn’t his car.”

“Oh,” Genevieve answered. The best word to silence her sister was ‘poor’ along with its synonyms.

“Can you get out? I need to get ready.”

“That’s right, dinner with Wayne,” Genevieve said before heaving a sigh. She did not leave Guinevere’s bedroom, instead, she slumped onto her bed. “I wish I was marrying him.”

Not bothering to reply, Guinevere changed into a red dress as her sister began to critic her taste in fashion. Ignoring all the tactless comments, she quickly got herself ready before grabbing her things and leaving her sister behind. It was typical of Genevieve, and she did it routinely every Sunday when Guinevere had a dinner date.

“Have fun!” Genevieve called out.

“You too!” Guinevere shouted back, knowing full well her sister had nothing on that night.

Sundays were officially Guinevere’s most boring day of the week. If she had nothing to do, she would be at home with her sister. And she hated being alone with her sister. It was a good thing she had a dinner plan with Wayne, because dinner with Genevieve would be a drag.

As Guinevere exited her house, she found Wayne waiting for her. He gave her a hug and kiss before opening the passenger door. Once they were both in the car, Wayne suggested a place to eat and she did not protest.

“Do you mind if I stop by somewhere first?” Wayne added.

“Where?”

“Jodie’s. I need to pass her something,” he said, as he gestured to the backseat.

Guinevere turned and saw a thick brown envelope. “What’s that?” she asked.

“Documents for her lawyer.”

“Oh, the one you recommended?”

“No, she went with someone else. Someone I’ve never even heard of. Makes me worried, you know.”

“Who?”

“Some guy called Matthias.”

Her eyes widened at the sound of a familiar name. “Really…”

“Yea. You don’t mind, right?”

“No, of course not,” Guinevere lied. She did mind, but Wayne was loyal to Jodie and she didn’t want to start an argument over it.

Thinking that was the only detour that night, she least expected when Wayne received an apparently urgent call a short while later. Unable to hear what was being said on the other line, she could only guess from Wayne’s replies.

“Now? When are they touching down? Of all days. Does he insist on doing it immediately? Fine. Meet me at the airport.”

When Wayne was done with the call, he pulled up beside a curb and turned to Guinevere with a disappointed look.

“We can’t do dinner tonight. I’m so sorry, Gwen.”

“Why not? You can always tell your client you’re busy. You have a life too, you know.”

Wayne sighed and said, “Not this one. Mr Lee is… well… difficult. If I don’t put up with him, he can cause a lot of trouble for me.”

“What a mighty man,” Guinevere replied sarcastically.

“I’m sorry, I-”

“No, don’t apologise. Mr Lee should apologise. I’ll go to the airport with you, right now.”

“Please don’t make things hard. I just need to get this done and then I won’t have to deal with him again,” Wayne said.

“Get what done, Wayne? It seems you’re constantly doing things for him.”

“Family inheritance. Company shares, investment, and all that.”

“He’s giving his shares to Richard?” Guinevere had no plans on deferring her anger, but something about the whole situation smelled fishy.

“No, not Richard. I can’t say much-”

“Why not? If you’re going to cancel on me, this is the least you can do,” Guinevere demanded.

“His other son.”

“He has another son?” Guinevere did not hide her shock.

“Yes, now can we just end this topic here?”

Guinevere narrowed her eyes at him and Wayne put his foot down. He placed both his hands on the steering wheel and said, “Guinevere.” Wayne had a tone that meant he was done arguing. It was her cue to give in, knowing she had more to lose than he did in the relationship.

“Fine. Take me home then.”

There was an awkward silence between the two of them as Wayne turned the car around. Barely five minutes later, Wayne asked, “I need you to do something for me.”

“What?”

“Can you drop off the documents at Jodie’s?”

Guinevere felt her blood begin to boil. She wanted to yell at him and jump out of the car. But she knew it would only make things worse. So, she took in a deep breath to calm herself down.

“It’s important. I wouldn’t ask you if it isn’t.”

Tempted to say ‘no’, she found herself reaching for the envelope instead.

“I’ll make it up to you, I promise.”

Sure, why don’t you try? Diamond earrings won’t buy you out of this one, Guinevere silently thought, even though she knew she would forgive him anyway.

When Wayne finally dropped her off, she decided to do one of two things. Deliver the documents to Jodie because it was important, or tell Richard about what was going down at the airport. Guinevere had to choose.

Next Chapter >
(For the chapter list, visit here.)

____________________________________________________________________________________________

The Clubhouse © 2014 – 2015 by Jeyna Grace.
All rights reserved. No part of the series may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording, or otherwise, without prior written permission from Jeyna Grace.
 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 14, 2015 in Original Works

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Chapter 28: Cherry-less Sunday

  1. K.E. Lane

    May 15, 2015 at 7:30 pm

    I started reading with this chapter – it was the first blog update I got of yours. I’m intrigued. When I have some time, maybe next week, I will have to go back and read this from the beginning. It seems like it could be a good story!

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      May 16, 2015 at 6:16 pm

      I’m happy this caught your attention! I hope you enjoy the rest of the chapters in this little blog series 🙂

       

Leave your thoughts

 
