RSS

Chapter 26: The Third Week

01 May

clubhouse26

It took him awhile to realise it had only been around two weeks. Two weeks since he met the other four and one week since all the drama started. It was as though time slowed down and sped up at the same time. He barely knew his competitors and yet he became a lawyer to one and a boss to another. Were they chosen for a reason? Were they meant to meet each other? Matthias could not help but wonder. It certainly felt that way and the goal to win Skypeak began to feel insignificant.

Perhaps he was thinking too much. Matthias concluded that time flew and stopped whenever it wanted to, and the past two weeks could have been a year if he did not pause to check the date.

“This feels so weird,” Matthias muttered to himself.

The weekend was a sleep away and Matthias decided to lounge in his living room a little while longer. He received a message from Ms Leona earlier that day to wait for her call on Saturday. Guessing he didn’t have to clock in early, he saw no harm looking into Jodie’s case for a few more hours. When morning finally arrived, Matthias found himself on his couch with his phone ringing by his side. He did not recall falling asleep, was it a dream?

Quickly reaching for his phone, he answered in a dry voice, “Hello?”

“Who is this? They said you would solve my problem.” The lady on the other end sounded angry.

“Matthias. May I know who’s on the line?”

“Mrs Dune. Now, like I said to one of those imbeciles earlier, I want to complain about one of your pool staff.”

Mrs Dune? Pool staff? Why was her name so familiar? And what did Matthias have to do with this pool staff? He did not own a pool.

Not knowing what to say, he remained silent. But that was possibly one of the worst things he could have done in the presence of Mrs Dune.

“Did you hear me? Are you deaf? I. Want. To. Make. A. Complaint.”

Immediately, at the way she demanded his attention, Matthias remembered why her name rang a bell. Guinevere had impersonated Mrs Dune once and she was spot on.

“I heard you, Mrs Dune,” Matthias replied, as his mind put together the puzzle pieces. This must be the call Ms Leona was referring to.

“Oh, I’m sorry, I thought you needed a hearing aid.”

“My apologies. What did this staff do to offend you?”

“He poured juice on my expensive bikini. Did I say expensive? Because it’s a limited edition.”

“He poured juice on you on purpose?”

“No, dimwit. I didn’t say on purpose. He tripped.”

“Did he apologise?”

“Does it matter? He ruined my bikini. Either you fire him or I’m suing for damages.”

“Mrs Dune, can we meet to discuss this?”

“Oh, now you’re asking. I said I wanted to see you face-to-face, but they just forwarded my call. Good then, I’m already at Skypeak. I can see you now.”

“It’s,” Matthias paused and looked at his watch. It was almost noon. “You’re probably hungry. Why don’t you visit the restaurant and have a meal. It’ll be my treat.”

“Fine,” Mrs Dune replied, followed by a click as she ended the call.

Without wasting any time, Matthias quickly rushed to get ready. He did not even attend to his grumbling stomach as he jumped into his car and sped to Skypeak. When he finally arrived at the clubhouse lobby, he met Zach.

“Hey,” Zach greeted.

“Afternoon,” Matthias replied. “I have to meet someone.”

“A customer?”

“You got a call too?”

“I just did, ten minutes ago. She said she’s in the restaurant.”

“What did she want?”

“She said the waiter took the wrong order. I offered a replacement but she said she’d already eaten it. I have no idea what to do,” Zach said with a chuckle.

“Sounds like a pain.”

“I heard she is. Too bad Dune doesn’t rhyme with pain.”

“Wait, Dune? Mrs Dune?”

“The one and only.”

“We’ve gotten the same customer,” Matthias promptly pointed out.

Was there a mess up or was it on purpose? Did it matter that they both had the same customer?

“Same customer, fantastic!” a new voice joined in on the conversation. It was a voice Matthias had grown to recognise.

Turning around, Matthias saw Richard jogging up to them. He gave Zach a nod before putting his arm around Matthias’ shoulder and leading him aside.

“I need your help.”

“No. I’m not doing your task for you,” Matthias replied. He had no idea why he said that, but his instincts were right.

“Come on, this is urgent. I need to be somewhere. Zach can handle the Dune himself.”

“I can’t do your task for you. Why don’t you just forfeit it?”

“I can’t forfeit it! Please just cover for me. My customer is meeting me at the Customer Service Center at 2pm. There’s time to handle both if you don’t want to leave Zach alone.”

Matthias simply stared at Richard. He found it strange that he had not shrugged Richard’s arm off his shoulders yet. Two weeks ago, he would have done so immediately.

“Matty, you’re the only one I can count on right now,” Richard added.

Suddenly, he felt like helping him. Richard wasn’t as irresponsible as he once thought he was. Perhaps there was something really urgent. Matthias wanted to give him the benefit of a doubt, but at the very same time, he knew Zach would not be able to handle Mrs Dune by himself nor would she stop complaining in an hour. Matthias had to choose.

Next Chapter >
(For the chapter list, visit here.)

____________________________________________________________________________________________

The Clubhouse © 2014 – 2015 by Jeyna Grace.
All rights reserved. No part of the series may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording, or otherwise, without prior written permission from Jeyna Grace.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 1, 2015 in Original Works

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave your thoughts

 
