RSS

A Case Too Ordinary

16 Dec

Are you missing my short stories? Here’s one!

Be sure to check out the other story I’m matched up against too, and then vote for your favourite HERE!

Write Club Fight Club

“They brought her in. I’m ready when you are,” my partner said.

“Great, let’s do this,” I replied, as I reached for the case file.

This was my first ordinary case in a long time. Too ordinary it felt like fantasy. The day my captain handed me the case, I turned to him and asked, “Is this for real?” He simply nodded in reply and waved me to it.

Honestly, it took me awhile to believe what I was reading. Even when they finally brought the suspect in, I wondered if it was all a dream. “Are you sure there’s no magic involved?” a question I had asked my partner several times, a question I asked again that day.

“No magic. No murder. Just a child. I don’t even know why we’re handling it,” he said.

In my world, evil comes in the form of curses, dark magic, and death…

View original post 1,252 more words

 
7 Comments

Posted by on December 16, 2014 in Others

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 responses to “A Case Too Ordinary

  1. snarmadhaa

    December 17, 2014 at 4:29 pm

    Great piece Jeyna! Loved the suspense, I’m off to see who you’re up against.
    All the best!

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      December 17, 2014 at 5:09 pm

      Thank you 🙂 I do hope you enjoy the other story too.

       
  2. JK

    December 20, 2014 at 6:12 am

    This was a lot of fun, about halfway through the story I started getting an inkling of who the little girl might be. I enjoyed the supernatural/fairy tale investigations concept a lot.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      December 20, 2014 at 12:11 pm

      Thank you! Glad you did! And yes, do check WCFC out 🙂 It’s a good place to practice. Haha!

       
  3. b00kreader

    December 27, 2014 at 3:13 pm

    I really liked your spin on this classic. However part of me is curious now…could Cinderella have been up to no good and the step mother innocent???
    Great story!

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      December 27, 2014 at 7:22 pm

      Thanks! That twisted idea seems more interesting, am I right?

       
      • b00kreader

        December 28, 2014 at 12:38 am

        100% right! I love the idea of turning classics on their ears 🙂
        Stay creative!

         

Leave your thoughts

 
