RSS

Chapter 4: No Rules

13 Nov

clubhouse4

She was confident, confident she would receive a handshake. Not once has she been turned down, and Guinevere was certain she never would be. Keeping the smile and her hand firm, she watched as Matthias chuckled at Richard before reaching for her hand.

“It’s a pleasure to meet you.”

“Pleasure is all mine,” Guinevere replied. She did not mind having Richard on her side too, but Matthias did not seem to like him and she wanted to know why.

“Shall we,” Matthias said, ignoring Richard who shook his head with a smirk.

“Your friend says he has a plan, perhaps we should include him,” Guinevere suggested as they headed towards a golf cart.

“He’s not my friend and he doesn’t have a plan. I do,” Matthias confidently responded.

“You seem to know him well enough. I honestly did not think he would be an outcast.”

“I’m kind of glad he is,” Matthias said, as he hopped onto the driver’s seat. “Don’t mind if I drive. Or, would you like to take the wheel?”

“Be my guest. I know when to let the man lead.”

Most people tend to see Guinevere as a seductress, always scheming to steal someone’s husband. When she was in school, the girls would call her the succubus. But she never once blamed them, as her intentions were often clouded with their jealousy. Growing up, Guinevere used her gift of beauty on many occasions but never with the goal of being the other woman. Unfortunately, society has been too quick to judge and she grew tired of justifying her actions.

“Congrats on the engagement,” Matthias said, as the cart whizzed through the grass.

“Thank you. Are we taking a shortcut?”

Guinevere noticed that Matthias had decided to follow his own route.

“No.”

“Are you kidnapping me?”

Matthias laughed and then turning to her, he said, “You’ll see.”

When Matthias finally hit the brakes, they were outside Skypeak’s Customer Service Center. The two-storey building away from the clubhouse was where new members registered and existing members filed complaints. Guinevere was now extremely curious and she needed to know what the plan was.

“I have to make a phone call. You need to make a complaint,” Matthias told her as they entered the building.

“I’m not sure if I want to.”

“Trust me. We’re a team, for now.”

Guinevere shook her head. “You have to trust ME.”

“What I’m doing is illegal, you sure you want in?”

“Stop acting so noble. No one said there were rules.”

Matthias hesitated for a brief second, and then in a whisper he said, “I’m going to hack the system and I need that man’s computer. You have to distract him.”

“There are cameras, you know.”

“Don’t worry, I know what to do. Let me talk to him first.”

Guinevere looked over at the man behind the counter, he was fiddling with the telephone wire on his left as he clicked away at the computer on his right. She thought through the plan again, and even though she knew very little of it, she gave Matthias a nod.

As Matthias headed towards the counter, Guinevere pretended to be on the phone. She watched his reflection on the long glass windows and waited until he managed to get behind the counter. When her instincts kicked in, she marched towards the man who was trying to help Matthias make a call.

“Excuse me, I need to tell you something,” Guinevere said.

Both Matthias and the man looked up at her confused, and Guinevere could not help but smile at how much effort Matthias was putting into his act.

“I have a complaint,” Guinevere continued, as she held her smile in place.

“I got this,” Matthias quickly said.

The man nodded and moved out from behind the counter. Just as he did, Matthias slipped onto his chair and swiftly plugged a flash drive into the keyboard.

“How can I help you?” the man asked.

“I want to know what kind of people you accept into this clubhouse. I have met so many rude and mannerless middle-class individuals, I’m starting to doubt the exclusivity of this establishment.”

“Well, I-”

“Don’t get me wrong, I’m not angry at you. I don’t blame you for the audacity of such human beings, but I want to be updated on your policy,” Guinevere said firmly.

When the man turned, hoping to retrieve the information she requested, Matthias’ eyes grew wide and she reacted on it. Reaching for the man’s arm, she quickly pulled him away.

“I can get the information for you, I just need-”

“Look, I know. But I don’t want to say anything else in front him,” Guinevere whispered as she pointed at Matthias.

“Oh,” the man simply replied.

“He’s one of them. One of those middle-class brats,” Guinevere spat. “You know who I am, right? I’m not just a politician’s wife. I don’t deserve bad treatment from those against my husband.”

 “Yes, I know who you are, Mrs…”

“Dune. I’m Mrs Dune,” Guinevere lied. Mrs Dune was the pompous politician’s wife who was fond of gossiping about Guinevere whenever Guinevere was in earshot.

“I might be rich and powerful, but I deserve respect too. It’s offensive when someone asks if your Prada is really Prada, don’t you think?”

The man nodded and gave a nervous chuckle. Their little ‘mission impossible’ was going perfectly well, until… someone decided to walk in. It was such a timely appearance, Guinevere had inkling it was planned.

“Is this how you cheated in the bar exam?” a voice loudly asked.

When Guinevere turned to see who it was, she immediately knew it was up to her to save the situation. Either she add Richard to their team or chase him out. Guinevere had to choose.

Next Chapter >
(For the chapter list, visit here.)

____________________________________________________________________________________________

The Clubhouse © 2014 – 2015 by Jeyna Grace. 
All rights reserved. No part of the series may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording, or otherwise, without prior written permission from Jeyna Grace.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 13, 2014 in Original Works

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave your thoughts

 
