RSS

3500 & A Captive’s Choice

21 Jan

3500 and a captives choice

Oh my, what do we have here, another thank you post? Yes, yes, another one.

Like its predecessors, I just wanna say a big thank you to all 3,500 subscribers on my blog. Both old and new, I really, really, really appreciate your support by simply following and reading my posts. You guys give me a little space on the Internet that I can be proud of. Without any of you… I will eventually cease to exist on the blogosphere and the World Wide Web. Gasps*

You may not know it, but your presence and words help boost my confidence on days that I feel unskilled or untalented. Knowing that, ‘hey, people do read my stuff and are entertained or touched by them,’ helps me keep my posting schedule because I know people are looking forward to my stories. I’m just blessed to have you guys 🙂 So thank you, oh so much!

Anyway, for a little update: I will not be posting a story next Thursday because I would be celebrating Chinese New Year. As much as I want to, I’ll probably be internet-less and out for the day. So, I apologize in advance.

Moving on, I’ve decided to accompany this post with another blog prompt! I find that blog prompts really gives me a chance to show who I am without being boring. And since today’s WordPress prompt is not out yet (at the very moment I’m typing this), I’ve decided to do one that caught my attention.

You’ve been kidnapped and given a choice: would you rather be stranded on an island, dropped into an unknown forest, or locked in a strange building?

I did some thinking and I finally decided on ‘locked in a strange building’.

My logic is this, if I’m on an island I would probably die waiting for a ship to come to my rescue, if I’m in an unknown forest it would only be a matter of time before a bear eats me, but if I’m locked in a strange building I might just find a way out. That is if it’s a building that did not come out of a Stephen King novel.

Now I know what you’re thinking, there is a chance that the strange building is in the middle of nowhere. But… I could probably find something useful in it to help me find civilization once I escape. I think there’s more hope with that choice than the rest.

So what does that say about me? I don’t know. It’s an honest answer though 🙂

Which would you pick? Let me know your choice in the comments below, I would love to hear your rationale on it too!

Well, that is about it for this post. Thank you again for your support, and to those celebrating Chinese New Year, xin nian kuai le!

 
15 Comments

Posted by on January 21, 2014 in Others

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

15 responses to “3500 & A Captive’s Choice

  1. Harliqueen

    January 21, 2014 at 9:06 pm

    I think I would pick the island, I’m a solitary person anyway so it would probably suit me 😀 But on most islands you can usually find some kind of food and shelter. A forest might be the next choice, because again you have food etc. The building might send me into a bit of a panic 😀

    Brill prompt and congrats on so many subscribers! I know, personally, I love your blog.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      January 21, 2014 at 9:51 pm

      True, the island/forest will have those resources which I considered while pondering on the question… but I don’t think I have the ability to build a home and hunt for food. I won’t last long alone in the wild. Haha! I’ll probably die of dehydration first.

      Thank you! And thank you for loving it too 🙂 Hehe!

       
  2. Dee

    January 22, 2014 at 3:29 am

    I would definitely pick the forest because: likely access to food and water, some common sense outdoor know-how in my back pocket, and the fact that the forest does have to end at some point. So long as the forest isn’t something out the Land of the Lost, I’d be okay for a few days (depending on the temperatures, of course). I might come out looking like Alan Parrish a la Robin Williams in Jumanji, but I’d probably survive with my wits intact. 🙂

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      January 22, 2014 at 9:05 am

      Ahh, I wish I had more experience in the wild. Haha!
      Hey, if Alan Parrish could survive a jungle like Jumanji, I’m sure you would too in a normal forest.

       
  3. douglas r

    January 22, 2014 at 3:36 am

    Hello Jeyna. Congratulations. It’s amazing to see you grow as an artist and get more subscribers. You deserve it!
    If you ask me, I think I’ll choose the strange building too because apart from the island or forest there is a higher possibility of getting an Internet connection. If it wasn’t for that then I would choose the island because I can get to spend all day on the beach. Sipping coconuts. Or better, the forest because I am still obsessing over the landscape in Catching Fire.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      January 22, 2014 at 9:07 am

      Thank you Douglas 🙂

      Haha! I have a feeling we won’t be given devices after being kidnapped. Chilling on the island does sound nice though.

       
  4. michelleleaman

    January 22, 2014 at 5:29 am

    Hi Jeyna,

    I too would choose the strange building. It offers more protection from the elements, and there is the possibility that if I get hungry trying to find my way out, there would be a vending machine I could break into or staff-kitchens I could raid. It is important to note that I have imagined myself in a high rise office complex.

    Great work on the 3500!

    Michelle.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      January 22, 2014 at 9:16 am

      Haha! I imagine some abandoned hospital.. but I’m sure they have vending machines too.

      Thank you Michelle 🙂

       
  5. zozieemma

    January 25, 2014 at 2:28 am

    Hello! I’m new to your page so maybe you’ve already explained this, but I was wondering how you made your banners? They are STUNNING! I look forward to further posts. 🙂
    Kind regards,
    Zozie.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      January 25, 2014 at 11:49 am

      Hi! Haha, I used photoshop and designed them myself 🙂

       
      • zozieemma

        January 25, 2014 at 10:08 pm

        Awesome! I’m trying to do something similar, but I was using a different program and it just won’t work. Thanks!
        🙂

         
  6. Hasan Qureshi

    February 1, 2014 at 4:01 am

    Not to be a spoilsport, but what if the building’s in a forest on an island?

     
  7. reader1684

    February 11, 2014 at 10:38 am

    I’d rather be on the island because I’m kinda claustrophobic when it comes to locking myself in. I might die waiting to be rescued, but on the other hand, what if the building was empty? I’m not a fan of forests either. Bears? *Shudder*

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      February 11, 2014 at 4:40 pm

      True, the building could be bare! But at least no bears 🙂 Haha!

       

Leave your thoughts

 
