RSS

Black Ghost – Pt. 2

03 Oct

Black Ghost Part 2

The black ghost left me awhile after the quitting of my employee. It did not possess anyone else, and I was starting to believe it was gone for good. I kept telling myself it was all part of my imagination, and I was no longer worried about it returning. But peace was short lived, because something else came up.

It was a hot afternoon when my lawyer came to see me. He had on a plain suit and he carried his typical brown suitcase. When he sat across my table, I knew something was up.

“What’s the problem now?” I asked.

“You’re being sued,” he said.

“Nothing you can’t handle, right?”

“Well, it’s not the typical lawsuit. You’re being charged for plagiarism and work place hostility.”

“Plagiarism? Hostility? What nonsense is this? I run an honest newspaper! Who is pressing these charges?!”

“A group of journalists who previously worked for you,” he replied.

“Those little scums!” I spat.

“Those little scums have a lot against you. They’re hoping to take you down.”

“Well then stop them! You’ve done it before, do it again. I don’t pay you for nothing.”

“I am, but-”

“What do you need? Hurry up and stop wasting my time!” I shot at him. The news set me on edge and I could not believe I was being challenged by a group of amateur journalists.

“I need to talk to some of your employees,” he calmly said.

“Then go do it! Why do you have to act so incompetent? Don’t make me hire someone else,” I threatened.

My lawyer nodded, and as he got up from his seat my worst nightmare returned. It floated up from the floor and trailed behind him as he walked to the door. When my lawyer reached for the handle, the black ghost entered his body.

I was literally glued to my seat as I watched it happen. There was a long moment of silence as I was expecting something bad. Indeed, my expectations were met. My lawyer pulled his hand back and turned to face me.

In a calm and composed manner, he said, “I have worked for you for five years. I have won many of your cases and saved you a lot of money. But after all these years, you still have no respect for me.”

He paused and waited for me to speak. When I said nothing, afraid that the black ghost might attack me through him, he continued, “Mr Trots, I sincerely hope you lose this case. Then, when you have nothing left but yourself, you would know what a horrid person you are. I’m done working for you. Goodbye and have a nice day.”

With that, my lawyer strode out of my office and never came back. The black ghost stayed though and this time I demanded an explanation.

“Why are you doing this?! What do you have against me?! Tell me!” I yelled.

The black ghost did not even turn to face me as it vanished into thin air.

The days following my lawyer’s resignation were the worst. I managed to find a new lawyer, but he was not as good. Though he put up with my demands, he just lacked something my previous lawyer had.

On the day I sat on the stand, I glared, scoffed, and did everything I could to wiggle my way out of it. I actually thought I did a good job, until the final day in court. The lawyers gave their final statements and when the jury got ready to decide on the verdict, I saw the black ghost again. It followed after them as they left the courtroom.

The guards had to hold me down when I attempted to chase after the black ghost. I was yelling and pointing at something nobody could see. And at that point, I knew I was done for.

True enough, the return of the jury was the hour of my destruction. I lost a lot of money and my publication was forced to shut down. I made the headlines of other newspapers and became both a laughing stock and a disappointment. I was no longer rich, powerful and famous, and I had no one.

As I sat in my office for the last time, I yearned for the sound of my machines. But the lack of clangs and thumps made reality sink right in. All I could do was stare at my typewriter. I did that for so long that when I finally looked up, night had arrived. But night was not alone.

Floating on the chair across my table was the black ghost. When I saw it, I stood up and asked, “Are you happy now?”

It stood up with me as I pointed my finger at its smoky face.

“You destroyed me! You are the reason I’ve lost everything! You will pay for this!” I accused as I stared it straight in the eyes.

That was when I noticed something strange. As our eyes locked, the black smoke began to solidify. Its face began to smooth out into skin and a suit materialized on its body. The exact same suit I was wearing.

It took me a few seconds but I soon realized I was pointing at myself. The exact replica of me was standing before me.

My hand began to shake as this clone repeated my words so perfectly, “You destroyed me! You are the reason I’ve lost everything! You will pay for this!”

Only then it all made sense.

I destroyed myself.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

The main theme of this two part story is pride. I’m sure some of you might have guessed it already. This story simply portrays how our pride has the power to destroy us, and if we don’t humble ourselves it will eventually be our downfall.

It is very easy to feel high and mighty through our success and talents, but its harder to practice humility. I am not afraid to admit that pride has a way of sneaking up in my life, but in those moments I remind myself that pride won’t do me any good. Hence, I always try to stay humble even though it can be a challenge sometimes.

So if you ever come face to face with pride one day, my advice is to show it the door and usher in humility 🙂

I hope you guys enjoyed this two part story and as always, let me know what you think!

© 2013 Jeyna Grace

(For more short stories, click HERE)

 
19 Comments

Posted by on October 3, 2013 in Original Works

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

19 responses to “Black Ghost – Pt. 2

  1. aspenlinmer

    October 3, 2013 at 1:21 pm

    Good job! That was a fun metaphor you created!

    ~Aspen

     
  2. b00kreader

    October 3, 2013 at 8:52 pm

    Negativity personified, I like it. Good job at keeping the suspense from part 1 to part 2.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      October 3, 2013 at 9:36 pm

      Thanks! I’m glad it worked out well as separate parts 🙂

       
  3. abbles

    October 4, 2013 at 11:15 am

    Ahh so good! This was so deep 🙂

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      October 4, 2013 at 11:29 am

      Thank you! The deeper the better, right?

       
      • abbles

        October 5, 2013 at 7:25 am

        absolutely 🙂

         
  4. Akira Okihu

    October 4, 2013 at 11:51 pm

    Well… I hoped for a real ghost 😉 . Nice story,as always! Loved the meaning of it.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      October 5, 2013 at 10:52 am

      Haha! Thanks 🙂 I’m not very good in ghost stories.

       
  5. joymcmanus

    October 5, 2013 at 1:37 am

    Really enjoyed reading this!

     
  6. zachlogan19

    October 10, 2013 at 10:40 am

    My goodness! That was an incredible read, thank you, can you write more tragic stories like this? Please?

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      October 10, 2013 at 10:52 am

      Thanks! I’ll definitely try to come up with more 🙂

       
  7. johncoyote

    October 10, 2013 at 3:10 pm

    You are a amazing writer. Strong characters and situation make the reader want more. Thank you sharing the chapters.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      October 10, 2013 at 3:26 pm

      Thank you! I do try my best in building my characters 🙂

       
  8. waveringmind07

    October 10, 2013 at 6:31 pm

    This as such a fun read. You have managed to create one hell of a story 🙂

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      October 10, 2013 at 8:39 pm

      Thank you! I’m glad you think so!

       
  9. J-HA

    March 23, 2015 at 11:35 am

    here! You ask why I thought your writing was translated? Because it reads simple; yes, it’s style. Your writing is solemn, there’s not much humor. Also, I’ve rarely seen you use English colloquialisms. And while I’m on the subject, colorful words like, ubiquitous, phizog, and ameliorate are marks of someone with an incredible grasp of a language. Some language translation programs will take words and phrases from one language and, if there are no direct translations, simplify them so they’re easily understood. This is what I thought you were doing on this blog until I heard you speak English. What language did you grow up speaking? Malay? And why write in English of all the world languages? If criticisms about your English use are helpful, I will begin to include them in my comments.]

    _“Goodbye and have a nice day.” Amid the intensity of this story and hostile feelings toward Trots, I found the timing of this line hilarious. What an ironic thing to say to someone who is losing everything! I wonder did you intended that to be funny? It felt like you were trying to keep things formal between the lawyer and Trots. Either way, give me more comedy, please!
    ____Another big error with this story is its length. There are too many scenes! Here are your main ideas: Mr. Trots owns a newspaper that he is very proud of. One day, a creature made of smoke challenges his pride by showing him how many people he’s hurt to get his position. Mr. Trots, then, loses everything. You didn’t need to dramatize the lawyer’s or the young reporter’s resignations. They just felt preachy, especially their dialogue. Tell me, what purpose did they serve? The lawyer says, “But after all these years, you still have no respect for me.” Don’t you think that’s obvious, especially after Trots calls him incompetent and is rude to him the entire time? At first, it seemed like the black ghost needed to possess these people to make its point but, at the end it has no problem turning into a clone of Trots to make its final point, which happens to be the strongest one. What if you had started the story on Trot’s last day in his office? He’s depressed but, not sorry about his pride. As he thinks about the events leading to this point and this strange black apparition, it’s then the ghost appears and reveals why it has tormented him.
    EDIT// Part 1//Paragraph 26: “He could not continue, so I let him shut himself up and began
    reading the story.” This sentence construction is awkward. Try this: He continued to stammer.
    So, I waited for him to shut up before reading his story.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      March 23, 2015 at 12:09 pm

      Simple is not bad 🙂 Rowling writes very simple too. I’m more of a plot driven writer, so I focus on advancing the plot in the fastest most efficient way possible. I avoid colouful words because it has been said by many others that they are not necessary. I for one would prefer a fast paced story over one where I have to google words ever so often.

      I believe my writing style stems from the country I live in and the way English is taught here. I don’t endeavour to be an American or British writer, I want to be known as a Malaysian writer. And it might sound strange, but I grew up speaking English. I’m a Chinese Malaysian and both my parents raised me in an English speaking environment. Sadly, I can’t speak any Chinese dialects fluently because I was not taught from a young age. I try though.. but I only embarrass myself. As for Malay, I was taught the language in primary and secondary school. I can hold a conversation but I can’t write well enough to save my life. Haha!

      I don’t mind criticism on my English use, if you understand how English is spoken and written in my country. Haha! Not all writers write the same even though the language is 🙂

      Yes, this story is a bit too long. If I expanded it even more, it wouldn’t be too rushed. I will admit, it’s not my best in the entire series. As for humour, well, I didn’t intend it to be. I’m honestly not very good with comedy.

      The edit: it actually doesn’t read awkward to me 🙂 Ah, your comment has made me realise that style is hugely influenced by culture. Thank you for that!

       

Leave your thoughts

 
