RSS

Chapter 38:

27 Dec

Chapter 38

The surge of energy that exploded in his chest was not the last thing he felt. Surely, he knew he was dying but he least expected it to be as such. As though time had momentarily slowed down, he felt every part of him returning, and the feeling of being complete was something he had long forgotten.

As the glare in his eyes finally faded away, he found himself standing in a clearing. There was a stream with glistening waters, and a fresh smell lingered in the air. Walking towards the stream, he saw his reflection and to his sudden disgust, he wanted to look away. He was hideous, even to himself.

Turning away from the stream, he saw a girl, seated under a tree. Her dark hair fell over her shoulders, and her perfectly fair complexion was softly glowing. This was certainly not reality.

As she stood up, his heart skipped a beat. The simple white dress she wore made her more beautiful than he could remember. Oh, how he missed her so much and the goodness of her heart.

“Tom? Is that you?” she asked, as she started walking towards him.

“I-” Tom quickly turned away. Inevitably staring into his reflection in the stream again. And it was in the water that he saw the change. His face was reshaping, regrowing and he was soon staring at his younger self. He was the boy who still had his soul intact, as well as everything else before dark magic had infested his very being.

“It is you,” Joanna said softly, looking into the water’s reflection.

“How? Is this heaven?” Tom immediately laughed at his own ridiculous questions. “Who am I kidding? You’re not even real.”

“What makes you so certain?” Joanna asked.

Turning to her, Tom took her hands and said, “Because, I don’t deserve it.”

“And yet here you are. I suggest you make the most out of this moment,” Joanna replied, as she led him to a stroll down stream.

“I feel oddly different. Is this how people feel when they die?”

“I don’t know. How different do you feel?”

“Different.”

“That’s because, you’re you again. Every part of you is finally home.”

Tom decided not to think about his feelings too much, God knows how long he had in such paradise. He did have a thousand questions though, like why did he not feel angry at the Potter boy for not dying, and why was he not at all upset that his lifetime plan failed again. Limbo was a very odd place, he concluded.

“You know, I’m kinda glad Harry Potter existed,” Joanna broke the silence.

Stopping in her tracks, she sat on a big rock by the stream and waved for him to follow after.

“Why? He destroyed me twice,” Tom replied immediately.

“And he saved you once,” Joanna responded as quickly as he did.

Joanna pulled up her white dress above her knees before dipping her feet into the stream. He had not noticed she was barefooted, until he saw that he was too.

“Think about it. After everything you have done, how is it possible for you to remember who I am?”

“I cared for you, that’s why I remembered.”

“And that part that cared for me lived in the boy. The very night you attempted to kill him, but instead lost part of your soul to him, was the same night he became the protector of the part that made you feel.”

“So when I attempted to kill him again, I killed my only human part? How does that even make sense Joanna?”

“You look at things too narrowly, Tom. Every time Harry destroyed one of your Horcruxes, that part of your soul returned to you. The pain you feel, was not really death; it was the pain of being you again. When you released Harry of the soul he was guarding, it returned to you as well. And when Nagini died, she gave up the last piece.”

“So, I became human again, and weak?”

“Humans are not weak; it is where you choose to get your strength from. Tom, you chose an unwisely path.”

“So, I have Harry to thank for, for being human again. The boy who ruined me is now my savior?” There was a pinch of anger in his tone, even though his anger could not fully grow.

“Harry never ruined you, you ruined you. He saved you from a state far worse than this.”

Tom did not respond. There were truth in her words and blaming someone else for how his life ended was not going to help him now. He silently wondered if there was a way he could turn back time and relive his life. He would have done so many things differently to spare him the regret he was feeling now.

Deep in his thoughts, he did not realize Joanna had reached for his hand until she laid a gentle kiss on top of it.

“Stop thinking so much,” Joanna said softly.

“I can’t help it, I…” Tom trailed off as he looked at Joanna.

Tom did not know how long he was looking at her until he noticed the trees and sky behind her starting to fade into white.

“Joanna, what’s happening?” Tom asked, as his surroundings started to dissolve.

Joanna gave a weak smile in reply, as she held on to his hand tightly. Tom had suspected that such bliss would not last forever, but he hoped it would have given him more time.

As the only world he knew of was slowly disappearing into a plain shade, Tom knew this was his last chance to do something right.

“Joanna,” Tom said, pausing as he took both her hands, “I love you.”

And then white was all there was.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

The series has officially ended. Here’s a final drawing, as a token of remembrance!

Joanna Fan Fic Art

If you want to download this picture, head on to my Facebook page. It will be up for download 🙂

I hope you enjoyed the series! And thank you for journeying it with me.

 
38 Comments

Posted by on December 27, 2012 in Fan Fiction (Novel)

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

38 responses to “Chapter 38:

  1. Occasionally Cynical

    December 27, 2012 at 11:40 pm

    A bitter-sweet but lovely ending really… I’ve genuinely loved reading this story, so thank you so much for writing it!

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      December 27, 2012 at 11:46 pm

      No, thank YOU for reading it 😀 I am really glad you loved it; as a writer, that is all I want to hear.

       
  2. abbles

    December 28, 2012 at 11:38 am

    A beautiful ending, Jeyna. Thank you for sharing this with all of us.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      December 28, 2012 at 11:49 am

      Thanks! It would have not ended without you guys 🙂

       
  3. tomte

    January 1, 2013 at 12:34 am

    No—it’s ended! *Sigh* But I guess it did have to end, huh? You picked a good place to end it, it’s PERFECT. 😀

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      January 1, 2013 at 12:35 am

      Thanks 🙂 I thought Tom should get his share of so-called ‘enlightenment’ as well.

       
      • tomte

        January 1, 2013 at 12:37 am

        He should, you know, he wasn’t entirely bad. Maybe that’s why I liked it so much, it’s the way you showed him that he wasn’t bad from the beginning…I don’t know. I liked it a lot, though 🙂

         
        • Jeyna Grace

          January 1, 2013 at 12:40 am

          I think so too; I never truly believed he was 100% evil. I’m glad you liked it 🙂

           
  4. littleonionwrites

    January 1, 2013 at 1:39 pm

    That was so beautiful. One of the best FanFictions I have ever read.
    Do you think you will write another long HP FanFic?

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      January 1, 2013 at 1:42 pm

      Thank you! Hmm.. I’m hoping too, though I’m not too sure what it would be just yet. If you have any suggestions, do let me know 🙂

       
  5. yumnaidrees

    January 17, 2013 at 2:57 pm

    I am speechless at the ending and I have no idea what to comment!!

     
  6. yumnaidrees

    January 17, 2013 at 2:58 pm

    This novel was simply spectacular!!

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      January 17, 2013 at 3:49 pm

      Thank you! You read it all so fast? Wow! Glad you liked it:D

       
      • yumnaidrees

        January 17, 2013 at 9:54 pm

        Yeah.. The novel was very interesting. I had to read it all very fast! 😉 As a matter of fact I’m glad u wrote it!! 😀

         
        • Jeyna Grace

          January 17, 2013 at 11:41 pm

          😀 I’m glad I did too. It was very therapeutic for me, haha!

           
          • yumnaidrees

            January 18, 2013 at 1:49 am

            LOL!! 😀

             
  7. dreamspinnerextraordinaire

    January 29, 2013 at 9:29 pm

    Hi! I’ve been meaning to comment on your blog for too long. I never read fan fiction, much less HP fanfics. But you got me intrigued with the way you weave your stories. I love it when writers keep me guessing. Nice works. Keep it up!:)

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      January 29, 2013 at 9:36 pm

      Thanks! Glad you like it 🙂 I try my best to keep things interesting.

       
  8. Taisa Binson

    June 24, 2013 at 10:11 pm

    Loved the story! It was wonderful, perfect in all ways. I was crying when Tom was being mean to her (when she had to go home to look after her mother), when Joanna died and when Tom told Joanna that he loved her. I was wishing that Joanna should live even though I knew that can’t be possible. Use character Joanna was exactly like me, glasses, hair, personality and all, except I never died for anyone I loved. (haha) And the fact that Voldermont is Tom R loved, is also very true from the story. Even though I finished reading the story I still can’t forget it, it’s like become a part of me. I could feel exactly how Joanna felt in all those situations. I miss Joanna so much now and now I feel that Tom was a bit more human. Wonderful story, can’t wait to see more.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      June 24, 2013 at 10:52 pm

      Wow, I’m so glad you could relate! I didn’t know if Joanna connected enough with my readers, so thank you for telling me 🙂
      I’m really happy my character made an impact, and I’ll definitely try to write more engaging characters.
      I’ll be looking forward to more of your comments in the future as well 🙂

       
  9. secretlyyoung

    September 11, 2013 at 4:34 am

    Read the entire thing today between classes and now I’m crying because it was so beautiful and perfect and omg words cannot explain how amazing this is. Thank you thank you thank you

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      September 11, 2013 at 10:32 am

      Haha! Thank YOU for reading it all! I’m really glad you enjoyed it, and i’m also glad it didn’t disappoint 🙂

       
      • secretlyyoung

        September 11, 2013 at 8:01 pm

        Can’t wait to start the next one haha

         
        • Jeyna Grace

          September 11, 2013 at 8:24 pm

          Looking forward to your comments on that one 😀

           
  10. Shankari Priya

    November 23, 2013 at 6:26 pm

    I can’t even start telling you how much I loved this. The flow of the story was just wonderful. Joanna and Tom, the real Joanna (JK Rowling) would be proud. Continue working on Harry Potter. You’re doing one hell of a great job. It all makes sense and a fantastic job bringing out Voldemort’s vulnerability. I loved the incident where he introduced Joanna to Nagini. It was so freakin amazing!!!

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      November 23, 2013 at 7:25 pm

      I’m really glad you loved it 🙂 Thank you! Maybe one day she would stumble upon it, who knows? Oh, thank you for reading it too.

       
      • Shankari Priya

        November 23, 2013 at 7:54 pm

        Thank you for doing such great work! And keep it up! I look forward to reading more of your work 🙂

         
  11. simranmishra500

    May 29, 2014 at 8:58 pm

    amazing!!!I was so mersmerised by the chapters that I read the entire series today only!!!WOW!!Keep it up..If possible write a love story about Harry and Hermoine.. 😉

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      May 30, 2014 at 10:14 am

      Thank you!!! Haha, I can’t really see those two together though 🙂

       
  12. gwenphillip

    March 13, 2015 at 8:00 pm

    I literally sat and read the whole 38 chapters without a break. One word: Epic. 😀

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      March 13, 2015 at 8:47 pm

      Wow, thank you! I’m glad it kept you interested throughout!

       
      • gwenphillip

        March 14, 2015 at 2:54 pm

        Not just kept me interested, it changed my perspective on old Voldy. Maybe he does have a hidden backstory 😛

         
        • Jeyna Grace

          March 14, 2015 at 5:18 pm

          He definitely deserves one 🙂

           

Leave your thoughts

 
