RSS

Dear Professor

27 Oct

“Where’s her letter?”  Alyssa Figg asked in a hush hush manner.

“We didn’t receive any,” Adrian, her husband, answered worriedly.

“What do you mean? It should have arrived by now!”

“I’ve checked the mail a hundred times, we didn’t receive any.” Adrian took a quick glance at the stack of mail on his work table.

“I don’t believe this. Sure, she might be slower than the other kids, but she’s one of us, she has our blood!” Alyssa began pacing up and down the small home office as she squeezed her palms together.

Arabella, who was peeking through the key hole of the room door, watched as her parents began discussing on what to do with her.

“What are we going to do? There’s nothing wrong with our daughter Adrian! They are mistaken!” Alyssa was now close to tears.

“I’ll send the school an owl tomorrow, maybe they are mistaken.”

“The school IS mistaken! She is not a squib! My daughter is not a squib!” Alyssa said with new found faith in her voice.

Arabella, who decided she had done enough spying for the night, tip toed back to her room. She was suppose to be asleep an hour ago, but when she had heard of her cousin receiving his letter earlier that day, she couldn’t stop thinking why she had not gotten hers. Now she knew.

She was a squib. Or at least, that was what her mother feared she was.

Arabella Doreen Figg was an ordinary girl, perhaps too ordinary. Unlike her cousins, she could not make funny things happen. She could not make flowers bloom when she felt happy, nor could she crack teapot sets when she was angry. Her cousins seem to be doing pretty well in that area, while she tried and failed every time.

But just like her mother, Arabella refused to accept the fact that she was not like her parents and cousins. She had convinced herself that the owl carrying her Hogwarts acceptance letter had died or lost its way. And if so, she should at least write to the headmaster of Hogwarts, to ask him to send another.

With that new goal in mind, she grabbed for a parchment and began writing.

“Dear Professor Scamander,

I would like to inform you that I have not received my Hogwarts acceptance letter. I am pretty sure the owl you sent have lost its way, or worse, died along its treacherous journey to my house.

If you could so kindly send me another, I would truly appreciate it.

Yours sincerely, Arabelle Doreen Figg. “

Once she had read her written letter ten times, she folded it up and slipped it into the nicest envelope she could find in her desk drawer.

Careful not to alert her parents, she sneaked into their living room and attached the letter to their tawny owl, which sat by an open window.

“Hogwarts ok?” she said to the owl in a whisper.

The owl hooted lazily and took off into the night sky. As she watched its silhouette disappear among the stars, Arabella was sure she would get an apology letter by tomorrow.

With her mind finally at peace, she went to bed and fell straight to sleep the moment her head hit her pillow.

True enough, when morning came, she found her parents staring at a Hogwarts letter in her father’s hand.

“What’s that? Is that my letter?” Arabella made a dash to her father, grabbing the letter from him.

Her parents smiled widely at her, they too could not believe what they had just received.

“Can I open it?” Arabella’s eyes glistened with excitement.

“Go ahead!” her mother said as she continued making breakfast with a smile she couldn’t wipe off her face.

Arabella ran to her room, shut the door and slumped on her bed staring at the letter in her hand.

“It’s finally here!” she squealed.

Slowly and carefully, she tore the envelope open. Her heart was racing like the orient express as she unfolded the letter and began to read.

“Dear Ms. Figg,

It is my deepest regret to inform you that you have not been accepted to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.

We are sorry to say that your lack of magical abilities has made it hard for us to accept your entry.

I hope you have a nice day.

Yours truly, Professor Newton Scamander.”

Arabella read the letter again, and again, and again, hoping she had read wrongly. But she had not. She felt like crying, but she somehow knew she saw it coming. What could she do if she lacked magical abilities?

As she entered the living room, in which her parents were happily waiting for the good news, she placed the letter on a side table and confidently said, “I didn’t want to go there anyway.”

Striding out of the room, with her head held high, Arabella tried to shut out the voices of her angry and upset parents. It was bad enough being confirmed as a squib that she didn’t need to hear her parents’ distraught at her non-magical self.

Maybe it wouldn’t be so bad, she convinced herself yet another time. And as long as she could stay convinced, she never looked back.

Then again, the truth was never as harsh on her as it was on her parents. After all, she was only 11, barely understanding the vast difference between a magical life and a non-magical one.

(On life and stuff requested a story on Ms. Figg, you can request yours too in the comments below!)

 
37 Comments

Posted by on October 27, 2011 in Fan Fiction (Shorts)

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

37 responses to “Dear Professor

  1. bestsellerteen

    October 27, 2011 at 9:02 pm

    wow i never thought about it that way!! i was trying to remember who arabella was and then i saw it and i was like, oh yea!! i cannot wait for the next post!!

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      October 27, 2011 at 9:08 pm

      Haha! I’m glad you liked it 🙂 If you have any characters you want me to write a story on, let me know!

       
  2. On life and stuff

    October 27, 2011 at 9:57 pm

    That is so cool, thank you very much!! You know who you could write about? Regulus!!!

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      October 27, 2011 at 10:20 pm

      Ahhh! That sounds like an interesting character to write about. Will come up with a story soon 🙂

       
      • On life and stuff

        October 27, 2011 at 10:26 pm

        Ooooooh… I suspect I will keep you busy busy… mwahahahahaha….

         
        • Jeyna Grace

          October 27, 2011 at 10:31 pm

          Haha! At least I’ll never have a head scratching moment when it comes to choosing who to write about.

           
  3. bluecloverbelle

    October 27, 2011 at 11:04 pm

    Love this!!

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      October 27, 2011 at 11:21 pm

      Makes me happy to know you guys love it!

       
  4. pitchofdreams

    October 29, 2011 at 12:45 am

    I like your style of writing – Why havent you been to harry potter land yet? you must go!!!!!

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      October 29, 2011 at 12:51 am

      Thank you 🙂 I really wish I could! But the cost of going there is really expensive, considering I have to fly across the ocean.

       
      • pitchofdreams

        October 29, 2011 at 12:53 am

        Start saving – im actually going there tonight, so keep a look out for my twitter @alexburrell

         
  5. literarydormouse

    October 30, 2011 at 12:15 am

    This is awesome, such a good idea! Really well written too.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      October 30, 2011 at 12:24 am

      Thank you 🙂 Glad you think so!

       
  6. amirdragnel

    October 30, 2011 at 7:11 pm

    my first visit in youre blog…lets write you wanna write :D..

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      October 30, 2011 at 8:38 pm

      Say what? Thanks for dropping by.

       
  7. Diki

    October 30, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    Nice one. 🙂
    I do hope you write about Regulus Black! 🙂

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      October 30, 2011 at 7:38 pm

      Thanks! I already have, its in my draft 🙂

       
  8. Diki

    October 30, 2011 at 7:43 pm

    can’t wait.

     
  9. TN, Simon's Vampire Buddy

    October 30, 2011 at 9:46 pm

    Love the story! But who is Arabella? I was very confused on that part.

    http://peacelovecheesecake.wordpress.com/
    New post(:

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      October 30, 2011 at 9:53 pm

      She’s Ms.figg from Harry potter 🙂

       
  10. anneris31

    October 31, 2011 at 8:38 am

    This was absolutely brilliant. You took one of the least looked at characters and gave her so much depth and exposition in just one chapter. Its rare to find well-written one shots and you’ve just proved to me that they’re out there.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      October 31, 2011 at 8:48 am

      Thank you very much! Its really encouraging to know 🙂

       
  11. bibliophile58

    October 31, 2011 at 11:21 pm

    Wow Jeyna, you have a real beautiful way with words mate. I think J.K.Rowling herself would be very proud to read that you have ventured so deep in to the world of Harry Potter and written so beautifully, it’s like an extension of the Harry Potter franchise. So when’s your own book coming out? I think you should publish all this work in the form a collection of short stories because as we all know there is no beating the thrill of reading from a book!
    Anxiously waiting for your future stories and endeavours!

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      October 31, 2011 at 11:38 pm

      Thanks 🙂 My only hope is to do so, to keep it alive, like I mentioned on your blog. Oh, I do hope she could read these, I would really love to know what she thinks. But I don’t think I can publish any of the fan fictions that I have written, it’s original copyright belongs to Rowling and I could get sued.

      My book will be coming out in December 🙂 And there will be a contest in the beginning of next year for a chance to win one.

      Thanks again! Do let me know what you think of my future writings 🙂

       
  12. silverwatermist

    November 2, 2011 at 10:52 am

    This is a pretty cool blog that you have, and it’s awesome that you have illustrations as well. This entry in particular is really good, I love the fact that you explored what might have happened to Mrs. Figg as a child. I haven’t seen anyone else do that so I think it’s pretty original!

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      November 2, 2011 at 10:57 am

      Thanks! I have an awesome friend who’s willing to draw for me, even though he’s pretty busy these days.

      That’s what I intend to do. Take the characters with the least limelight and give them more depth. I’m glad you enjoyed it 🙂

       
  13. Saronai

    January 8, 2012 at 3:36 am

    This short made me realize more fully that it’s better to be a muggle unawares than a squib most times. It also gave me the kernel of an idea I might play with, but I can’t see as though it’d make a good story yet.

    The idea was a novel reversing Harry Potter’s story. Squib mistreated by magical family for various failings who decides to run away to the muggle world. Maybe she’ll become an awesome scientist 😛 At any rate, might be interesting to see how a person born and raised in the wizarding world would adapt to the muggle one, having no magic of their own.

    I still think they should accept and teach squibs. Sure, they may not be able to wave a wand, but some of them might be aces with herbology and potions.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      January 8, 2012 at 10:16 am

      Good idea, go for it 🙂 True, it is better being unaware of something that you know would have been a big loss to you.
      Well, maybe they should have a special school for squibs, or a special class, like how they have Remove class in high schools for slower students.

       
      • Saronai

        January 8, 2012 at 4:43 pm

        Yeah, like that, or like the hero support classes for “side kicks” in the Disney movie “Sky High.”

        Just because you can’t make magic doesn’t mean you can’t contribute to the wizarding world. If I end up writing that fanfic, that’ll likely be the idea I’ll be aiming to depict by the end. Assuming my character doesn’t end up taking it for a different ride lol

         
        • Jeyna Grace

          January 8, 2012 at 7:41 pm

          True. Do let me know once you have gotten it on your blog!

           
  14. tiffaasaur

    February 7, 2012 at 9:28 pm

    ^_^ Oh wowie. What an amazing fanfiction. :3 I’m forever reading countless ones, and I often come across a lot that are so pooly written it does my head in. However, you’re amazing at writing. (:
    I shall read the rest of your fics soon! 😀 x

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      February 7, 2012 at 9:58 pm

      Thank you 😀 Do let me know what you think of the rest!

       
  15. katiedid1990

    December 19, 2014 at 12:26 pm

    I love this idea about Ms. Figg. All to true, it would a a strenuous time in a household of magic if one of their kids turned out to be a squib. I love hearing what may have happened.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      December 19, 2014 at 12:46 pm

      I agree 🙂 It’s pretty much the same in the muggle world sometimes, especially when parents expect their children to be/do something.

       
  16. sunnyjankim

    March 20, 2015 at 11:55 am

    I loved how cute Arabella is here! 😀 Do you have any fanfics about Remus?

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      March 20, 2015 at 12:58 pm

      Thank you 🙂 Yup, it’s titled ‘All The Better To Eat You With’.

       

Leave your thoughts

 
