RSS

She Left Didn’t She

31 Jul

5th May, 1990

It was a beautiful day. The sun was up, the sky was clear, and the yellow flowers Luna had collected was perfect for the vase on her bedside table. She had just turned nine 3 days ago and she felt as though she was “big” enough to conquer the world.

She skipped in her floral blue dress in their family’s garden and shooed the gnomes backed into their holes in the ground. She didn’t really like the gnomes, nor did her father, but no matter what she did, they always came back.

It was tea time and Luna was done playing outside. She hurried up the old wooden steps and into the crooked house she called home.

But when she thought the day was too pleasant for tears, her father proved her wrong. Sitting by an old armchair was Xenophilius Lovegood, the man Luna occasionally called the Happy Nargle. She found it rather odd, and wondered why he was sobbing uncontrollably.

“Father? What’s the matter?” Luna asked as she squeezed next to him on the armchair.

Xenophilius shook his head in reply. He didnt know how to tell his daughter what had just happened.

“Did the gnomes make you upset? I can yell at them if you like,” Luna smiled innocently.

“Luna-” Xenophilius choked on his words. The girl was nine. She was too young for this.

“Are you upset that i came home a wee bit late? I promise to be on time next time.” Luna felt bad. What she said didn’t help and she didn’t like seeing her father cry.

“I’ll make you some tea, just as you like it,”Luna said and walked to the kitchen before her father could stop her.

As she entered, she stopped dead in her tracks. The kitchen was in a mess. The windows hung broken and pieces of the kitchen cabinet laid on the floor. On the kitchen table was her mother’s cauldron, but it seemed to her that her mother needed a new one because this one had a big crack.

Luna was careful not to step on the wooden shards as she headed to the stove. She watched the floor as she maneuvered but when she finally looked up, the answer to her question of a messy kitchen was answered.

Lying on the floor was her mother. Eyes shut and body limp, Luna wasn’t sure what to make of it. She slowly knelt down beside her mother and touched her hand. It felt cold.

As Luna looked up, she saw her father standing at the doorway. He seemed to be looking for words to say but none came out of his mouth.

“She left didn’t she?” Luna asked softly.

Xenophilius was confuse. He didn’t know what his daughter was talking about.

“She left didn’t she?” Luna asked as she stood up.

“Luna, your mother-“

“It’s ok father. I won’t leave so soon.” Luna walked over and gave her father a hug.

She knew what was going on. Her mother had left them. But she was determined not to.

After all, she was nine. “Big” enough to be strong for her deeply upset Happy Nargle.

 
46 Comments

Posted by on July 31, 2011 in Fan Fiction (Shorts)

 

Tags: , , , ,

46 responses to “She Left Didn’t She

  1. Jacman

    July 31, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    I had thought about Luna’s past when I was reading the book. This justifies it … very well written.

     
  2. Μελέτη

    August 1, 2011 at 3:33 am

    Very touching. Sums up the emotions of a child and the burden of a father. You have also preserved the characters.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      August 1, 2011 at 7:11 am

      Thanks! That was the reaction i was hoping to get 🙂 Thanks for subscribing too!

       
  3. Rae

    August 2, 2011 at 12:03 am

    I enjoyed your extension of the story. So much going on for such a small piece. Well done. Thanks also for visiting my site. Always nice to make new connections!

     
  4. yummycheffarley

    August 2, 2011 at 7:42 am

    you really have captured Luna’s character…I wonder now, after reading this post, whether she was the way she is now because of finding her mother like this. Well done =)

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      August 2, 2011 at 9:40 am

      Thanks! I have a feeling she was always the optimist.

       
  5. inksmearedfingers

    August 2, 2011 at 11:01 am

    I love this. 🙂 you’ve captured Luna’s character very well. Hope to read more of your work.

     
  6. angrygaijin

    August 2, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    Interesting read~ Good job ^^

     
  7. treadmillgirl

    August 3, 2011 at 3:10 am

    Woow! These are really good, I read many of your postes/storys.. I liked the the last letter from lily and this one the most.. You really should be a writer.. I would buy all your books.Keep on writing! 🙂

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      August 3, 2011 at 7:15 am

      Thank you! Appreciate the comment, it made my day 🙂

       
  8. Medha

    August 3, 2011 at 3:19 am

    ooohhhh!
    it’s nice…i like the characterization, it doesn’t feel like it’s not a part of the book! 🙂

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      August 3, 2011 at 7:17 am

      Thanks! I was trying to keep it true to the characters, glad you think i managed to do so.

       
  9. jvincent

    August 3, 2011 at 4:35 am

    Very well done, I would definitely enjoy more literature on Luna. She was always one of my favorite characters because of her genuine kindness. Your portrayal of Xenophilius was spot on (based on his reaction during Harry, Ron, and Hermione’s visit to him)!

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      August 3, 2011 at 7:14 am

      Thank you for the comment! She is one of my favs too 🙂

       
  10. Ahya

    August 3, 2011 at 8:54 am

    I really love fanfics that’s about the characters’ pasts. It sort of completed the missing pieces on their puzzle. I liked it, I always wondered about the scene where Luna lost her mom. The way you wrote her actions and words really defined the Luna Jo created. It’s great, Jeyna. 🙂

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      August 3, 2011 at 9:10 am

      Thank you! That was what i was trying to do, trying to write what i think actually happened.

       
  11. Elaine

    August 3, 2011 at 11:16 pm

    I have a bit of a question! The only way to see Thestrals is to have witnessed death, right? So if Luna is able to see Thestrals, does it mean that she must actually witness the death happen? Or just be close to it/suffer the aftermath? This was the first thing that popped into my head when I read this post, but I re-read it and I thought it was lovely 🙂 Your 9 year old Luna is exactly the younger Luna I have in my mind. Good job!

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      August 3, 2011 at 11:20 pm

      Honestly, i have no idea. HAHA. I always thought if someone you knew died, then you’ll be able to see it, but i guess you’re right. Ah, well, its a fan fic, still allowed to make mistakes 🙂 Thanks for the comment!

       
  12. nicholasdaletaylor

    August 4, 2011 at 1:50 am

    I’ve encouraged lots of friend to start fiction blogging for fun. Luna is a personal fav!

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      August 4, 2011 at 10:39 am

      She is mine too! Thanks for stopping by and commenting 🙂

       
  13. live60

    August 4, 2011 at 3:57 am

    Hi, Jeyna, I enjoyed the style although I’m not familiar with the characters or the story. I don’t do fan fic, but I respect the writing of fan fic. I don’t have time today to read more but I will. Keep up the good work. You’re an excellent writer.

    R.D….

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      August 4, 2011 at 10:41 am

      Thank you! That’s a real encouragement 🙂 Would love to read more of your comments on the other stories.

       
  14. megmraz

    August 6, 2011 at 9:49 pm

    Nice work! I agree with a fellow poster, you did a wonderful job of keeping the characters consistent. Luna is one of my favorites, so I was interested to see how you would handle her in this scenario. Her reaction was spot on. Keep it up! 🙂

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      August 6, 2011 at 9:58 pm

      Thank you! I appreciate your comment. Comments like these keeps me writing.

       
  15. lillypadgraphics

    August 25, 2011 at 5:53 am

    I’m going to be nitpicky and point out that Luna SAW her mother die not found her mother dead…. but otherwise, this is a very good story. 🙂 You have Luna’s character written perfectly, as well as Xenophilius.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      August 25, 2011 at 9:49 am

      LOL.. i know Luna saw her mother die, just didnt have a sad enough story that involved her seeing her mother die. Thanks though, for stopping by and commenting!

       
  16. Ani Sharmin

    January 7, 2012 at 10:31 am

    Awww…this is so sweet and sad.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      January 7, 2012 at 12:03 pm

      Just as I wanted to portray it 😀

       
  17. Face

    April 28, 2012 at 10:59 pm

    Brought tears to my eyes, it did. 😦

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      April 28, 2012 at 11:00 pm

      It brought tears to mine when I was writing it, i’m glad you could feel it as well!

       
  18. maddieroberts

    July 2, 2012 at 10:51 am

    I love luna

     
  19. haylzie

    April 18, 2013 at 9:47 am

    I’m not a huge fan of this one to be honest. I love Luna, but I think this could have been better portrayed in her father’s eyes since we already kind of know how she felt about her mothers death.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      April 18, 2013 at 9:56 am

      Glad you liked it! Hmmm… that’s a thought. I should have attempted his POV.

       
  20. vlackerine

    May 30, 2013 at 8:28 pm

    I haven’t finished reading the series just yet so I hope I won’t confuse what the contents of the book are with your posts since they are really great that I feel like they really part of the book! ^_^

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      May 30, 2013 at 8:35 pm

      Haha! That was my plan! The short fan fics are suppose to flow with the series and act as back stories 🙂 I’m really glad you think so!

       
      • vlackerine

        May 30, 2013 at 8:37 pm

        If that’s your plan I think you’re doing a nice job then and I’m really liking it! 😀

         
  21. Taisa Binson

    June 23, 2013 at 7:04 pm

    I loved it! So emotional, I was near tears.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      June 23, 2013 at 7:10 pm

      Thank you! Glad it touched you 🙂

       
  22. yawriterinthemaking

    August 7, 2013 at 10:38 am

    Very beautiful and touching :’)

     

Leave your thoughts

 
