RSS

Chapter 1:

26 Jul


Ever since she started school, Joanna has never stayed in one no longer than a year. She would somehow get in trouble and subsequently expelled.

This time, her parents decided to place her in a school near home, in hopes of keeping a close eye on her behavior.

As they walked down the hallways of Hogwarts, Joanna rolled her dark brown eyes trying to keep up with her father’s fast pace. In embarrassment, she let her black hair cover half of her face, as the Professor with them, who wore a peculiar half-moon shaped glasses, was trying to ignore her father’s rambling speech, which were supposedly attempts of scolding her.

They finally stopped in front of the headmaster’s office and at the mention of a magical creature, the statue of a phoenix revealed a staircase leading upwards.

Joanna followed after her father as they made their way into the headmaster’s office. An old man, who was nearly bald and somewhat feeble, smiled as he greeted them.

Embarrassed once again as her father was trying to convince the headmaster to let her enroll, Joanna went on to staring at the floor. Minutes later, the headmaster ended up convincing her father that Hogwarts is always open to students like her.

Students like me? You mean troublemakers, Joanna thought to herself as she bid her father goodbye and followed the Professor with the half-moon shaped glasses, who went by the name of Dumbledore, to her first class; potions.

In class, Joanna was introduced as a transferred student from the Wizarding School of Dramatic Arts, which was partially true. She was then asked to sit with a boy who had no partner, and so she obediently did.

The boy had black hair, and his dark eyes somehow complimented his pale skin, making him rather handsome. He looked at Joanna and smiled. “What did you say your name was again?”

“I didn’t,” Joanna answered shortly.

“Joanna isn’t it? I believe i heard it right,” the boy continued on.

Joanna looked at him as he threw a few twigs into the bubbling cauldron.

“My name is Tom.” The boy reached out his hand as he introduced himself.

Joanna responded with a hand shake and asked, “What are you doing?”

“I’m brewing some amortentia,” Tom answered, reaching for the jar of Ashwinder eggs.

“Why make a love potion when you can make a hate potion with almost the same ingredients?” Joanna asked as she uncapped the jar of powdered moonstone.

“I would, if Professor Slughorn stopped hovering over me all the time.” Tom watched the Professor walk up behind him and gave him a pat on the shoulder.

When Professor Slughorn had finally retreated behind his desk, Tom asked, “You have not been sorted yet?”

Joanna shook her head in reply. “I am suppose to see Professor Dippet after class, but…”

“You can’t remember where his office is?” Tom finished her sentence for her.

“No.” Joanna shrugged as she flipped through an old copy of Advance Potion-Making.

“I can show you where, if you like,” Tom said as he threw in a pinch of moonstone powder.

Smoke rose from the cauldron with a poof and Professor Slughorn stood up clapping.

The class ended with Professor Slughorn constantly praising Tom for his excellent work, while the rest of the students grew green in envy. Joanna however, couldn’t care less as she waited for the professor to release Tom from his clutch of admiration.

Finally, after everyone had left, Tom walked her out of the class and led her down a long hallway.

“So, why did you transfer?” Tom asked before Joanna could sarcastically comment on him being the teacher’s pet.

“I didn’t exactly transfer. I was expelled,” Joanna answered.

“For what reason?” Tom asked curiously.

Joanna smirked and Tom narrowed his eyes at her.

“Oh, look, we’re here,” Joanna said unexcited. Tom took the courtesy of saying the password and following after her.

As they entered the headmaster’s office, the paintings on the walls looked down at them immediately. But their soft chitter-chatters were immediately obliterated by Professor Dippet’s exclamation, “Mr. Riddle! What brings you here today?”

“I was just showing my new friend where your office is,”Tom replied with a smile.

Since when were we friends? Joanna silently asked herself.

“Ah, yes yes. Ms. Chen needs to be sorted! Come now my dear.” Professor Dippet ushered her to a chair as he continued, “Would you help me get the hat?”

Tom nodded and reached for the sorting hat on one of the shelves. He handed it to Professor Dippet and the Professor took no delay in placing it on Joanna’s head.

Joanna couldn’t help but look up skeptically at the hat on her head.

“Doubting are you?” the hat spoke. It’s voice echoing in her head. “Hmmm… cunning but loyal. Patient but rather ambitious. This one isn’t easy.”

To be continued…

(Leave a comment below or vote on which house you think Joanna should be sorted in to, and i will place her in the highest voted house!)

 
37 Comments

Posted by on July 26, 2011 in Fan Fiction (Novel)

 

Tags: , , ,

37 responses to “Chapter 1:

  1. Medha

    July 30, 2011 at 2:12 am

    Hi
    I loved this!
    I’ve read a lot of fanfictions, but I must say that I’m highly intrigued by yours…so, I shall be subscribing to your blog to read further!

    One suggestion, if I may add, for the blog is that it would be really nice if you could place a widget for subscribing via RSS on the sidebar.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      July 30, 2011 at 12:07 pm

      Thank you! And thank you for subscribing 🙂 Will do, i’ll add an RSS on the sidebar.

       
  2. zoey808

    August 1, 2011 at 8:53 pm

    Hmmm~
    Loyal, patient, and ambitious… HUFFLEPUFF! 😀 LIKE ME!
    And then Tom gets to tease her MUAHAHAHAHHAHA~~~!!!!

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      August 1, 2011 at 8:57 pm

      I was counting on more Hufflepuff votes! Oh, and Thank you for subscribing Zoey 🙂

       
  3. Caprice Cake

    August 5, 2011 at 12:47 am

    There is never enough Harry Potter fan-fiction. 😀

     
  4. Dana Lane Herrera

    October 15, 2011 at 9:04 pm

    Hey there! Checked your blog out after you left a comment on mine. Keep those fan fics on comin! 🙂

     
  5. elenaalex23

    November 5, 2011 at 11:38 pm

    Ah this was good. Definitely good. Keep writing. I cant wait to get to the other chapters. (:
    And as the earlier comment mentioned, there is never enough Harry Potter Fan Fiction. x)

     
  6. thewildtinker

    November 20, 2011 at 11:35 am

    Wow! This is really nice stuff! I’m so happy I’ve found another Tom Riddle fan! Keep writing cause I wanna read more 🙂 Btw, Thanks for commenting on my blog! It means a lot to me 😀

     
  7. hithere298

    November 22, 2011 at 10:13 am

    This. Is. Awesome. Awesome! Consider me subscribed.

     
  8. Tianna

    December 3, 2011 at 10:04 am

    First, Tom. OH MY LANTA. What a hottie. x3
    Second, LOVED this. You’re a very talented writer, and I can’t wait to continue with this story!

    (I swear, I’m not a creepy stalker. You commented on my blog before, and I thought I’d drop in. :D)

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      December 3, 2011 at 10:32 am

      Haha! Thanks 🙂 Glad you did!

       
  9. randomjellybean

    December 10, 2011 at 11:58 pm

    This is great !!

     
  10. nuelene

    March 24, 2012 at 2:00 pm

    OMG! New reader here! I’m so amazed with your story. Goodness, I feel like I’m reading the HP again. 😀

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      March 24, 2012 at 7:11 pm

      Thank you! I’m just trying to keep it alive as much as I can 🙂

       
  11. taremin

    April 7, 2012 at 1:27 am

    Wow, this is really interesting! I love your writing :).
    I’ll be sure to come back around again!

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      April 7, 2012 at 11:01 am

      Thanks! I hope to you see you again soon 🙂

       
  12. Daniel

    June 8, 2012 at 4:37 pm

    I think that this will be an interesting fanfiction to explore, I really love that the readers are able to vote on things, get involved and direct the flow of the story. It’s a great idea. Have they ever created a problem, because you really wanted to go down a particular path, but left it up to the readers who wanted to go in a different direction? And is there always one particular option that you just hope everyone votes for (though I don’t know how often you do polls, as this is the first chapter I’ve read)? Hope to read more soon! By the way thanks for your comments on my blog, thought I’d repay the favour!

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      June 8, 2012 at 4:50 pm

      So far, it has not been a problem. I do have a particular option that I want my readers to pick, and of all the polls I’ve done, only one has not been in my favour. Oddly enough, most people think like me. Haha!

      No problem, and thanks for returning the favour 🙂

       
  13. Marina Schulz Tork

    August 17, 2012 at 7:37 pm

    Really cool! I’m gonna start following you:) ps: had i known about your blog at the time I’d have said Slytherin

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      August 17, 2012 at 7:56 pm

      Thanks! The story would have been really diff if she was in Slytherin though 🙂

       
      • Marina Schulz Tork

        August 18, 2012 at 7:21 am

        That’s the cool thing about your blog, you interact with us readers 🙂 ps: sorry I didn’t comment on the other chapters but I was really into the story and kinda forgot, lol

         
        • Jeyna Grace

          August 18, 2012 at 11:07 am

          Thanks, that’s the fun part, being able to be apart of a story. Haha, no problem, glad you liked it 🙂

           
  14. donnaray

    November 21, 2012 at 8:36 am

    I already have a story of Tom’s love life in my mind…..nice to see that you 2 have one…thnx 4 dis fanfic…:):)

     
  15. Alap Parikh

    November 24, 2012 at 1:47 am

    Seems like I have some catching up to do!

     
  16. alwayslily

    December 2, 2012 at 12:49 am

    This is really good so far. It might take a me a while to catch up though.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      December 2, 2012 at 12:51 am

      I hope you can catch up in time! 😀

       
  17. xiaohuamaobiji

    September 17, 2015 at 6:26 pm

    I like how this story is going, I’m a big fan of fan-fic 😀

     

Leave your thoughts

 
