RSS

A Pen Pal’s Christmas Wish

26 Dec

A penpals christmas wish

I have a pen pal. I know it sounds ridiculous in an era where Internet exists, but I have been writing letters to this ‘pal’ for as long as I can remember. Even though emails are faster, we agreed that the ugly scribbles gave our letters a special touch. So, we stuck to it as the black ink told stories of day-to-day life and the deepest secrets of our hearts. We were basically ordinary pen pals except… he wasn’t ordinary.

This year’s ‘pen pal-ing’ started off with me writing to him about my fear of failing my driving exam. A week after I poured the horror on a piece of paper, a package came in the mail with a book titled, ‘Driving For Dummies’. Together with it was a note telling me not to worry and encouraging me to believe in myself. Surprisingly, that little note did its job.

A few months after I passed my driving exam, I started working. That was when I stumbled upon a rather annoying colleague who made my life a nightmare. It was only normal to vent my frustration in my next letter, so I did, with my alphabets morphing into ghastly creatures that were feeding off my frustration. I have no idea how he managed to read them, but a week after I dropped my letter in the mailbox, a reply arrived with a gift voucher for an expensive restaurant. And to make my life easier, there was also a ripped classified page from a newspaper with jobs highlighted in green.

With time and his help, that issue soon passed and the year began to smoothen out. Unfortunately, before the last crease could be straightened, I bumped into another problem… literally. It was my first car accident and the world managed to push me into a corner. There, I wrote a letter of my confusion and anger and shortly after, I received a reply with a few hundred dollars. He offered to pay for the damage knowing I needed the help, and he warned me not to return him the money.

Of course, I thanked him profusely in my next letter for his help. I always thanked him whenever he did something for me, but I soon realized it wasn’t enough.

When Christmas began to roll around the corner, I asked him if he had a wish for Christmas. I told him I would give him anything, as long as it made him happy. The reply I got from him was both expected and unexpected.

Dear Ally,

You know I do not want a gift from you. I’m not the type of person who yearns for presents. But knowing you well enough, you would probably beg me for a request. So, I did some thinking and I found what I would like for Christmas. Since you promised to fulfil it, here it is: I want another year of being your pen pal. Don’t let me down!

Now, what do you want for Christmas?

Love, Dad.

The first time I read that letter, it made no sense. Obviously, I was still going to write to him next year. I may be away from home, but that doesn’t mean I’ve forgotten where I truly belonged. It was a rather dull request, but after a few rereads, his words began to hold a new meaning.

All my dad wanted was another year of exchanging letters, where he could pick me up when I fall, send me gifts to put a smile on my face, and be my friend in a world where I’m on my own. He finds joy in being my light, refuge and strength, and all he wanted was to continue being just that. It was a wish so selfless that I struggled to see its true nature in a world that was completely the opposite. When my heart finally realized the love he has invested in me throughout the year, a tear fell from my eye.

Compared to him, I spent lesser time on my letters and filled them with complaints, worries, and requests. I wrote to him regularly but the dedication I had was nothing compared to his. When I understood his heart, I felt like I did not deserve it.

That night, I wrote a reply saying I would do as he requested. I told him it would be my honour to continue writing to him and that I appreciated everything he has done for me. As for my Christmas wish, I told him I wanted what he wanted, and that was another year where I can try to out love him even though I know I can’t.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

I know today is supposed to be fan fiction day, but since Christmas was just yesterday I decided that a Christmas story would be more appropriate. To some, this is merely a simple story revolving around the theme of love, being Christmas IS about love… but to me it is more than that.

You may not be in the Christmas mood this year and this story might not be as exciting as the previous one, but I do hope you take something from it, whether it be a little tingling sensation or a small message. That is all I can hope for :)

Anyway, Merry (belated) Christmas and may 2014 be a great year for all of you!

© 2013 Jeyna Grace

(For more short stories, click HERE)

 
47 Comments

Posted by on December 26, 2013 in Original Works

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

47 responses to “A Pen Pal’s Christmas Wish

  1. Rachael Charmley

    December 26, 2013 at 7:12 pm

    A beautiful, heart lifting story :-).

     
  2. otakudaydreams

    December 26, 2013 at 8:29 pm

    What a moving story.

     
  3. Sincerely Kate

    December 26, 2013 at 10:01 pm

    I loved this, and not just because I enjoy handwritten letters, hehe.

     
  4. Merridy

    December 27, 2013 at 12:52 am

    Thank you Kindly for Sharing this beautiful Story..

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      December 27, 2013 at 9:43 am

      And thank you for reading it :D

       
  5. Farah Ng @ Broken Penguins

    December 27, 2013 at 2:58 am

    That’s a beautiful story! It’s so nice that you write to your father. Somethings (most things) are just better handwritten.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      December 27, 2013 at 9:44 am

      True, somethings are better handwritten :) This is actually a fictional story, but in many ways related to my life.

       
  6. michaelagarnett

    December 27, 2013 at 6:33 am

    I think that is so cool! I used to Have a pen pal, but eventually we just stopped writing, its kind of sad! :(

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      December 27, 2013 at 9:45 am

      Thank you :) Hey, you can always dig up your pen pal’s address and spring up a letter?

       
  7. joymcmanus

    December 27, 2013 at 7:32 am

    Nearly started crying, that was beautiful <3 I look forward to another year of your writing too, I normally only follow the blogs of people I have at least met but I make an exception for writers like you

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      December 27, 2013 at 9:53 am

      Thank you! I’m honoured to be an exception. I’m also looking forward to another year of sharing stories and going on adventures with all of you :D

       
  8. abbles

    December 27, 2013 at 10:37 am

    That.Was.Too.Cute.

     
  9. charb74

    December 27, 2013 at 11:41 am

    As my family is currently away, I literally dropped a few tears as a father of two daughters. I guess what parents do for their kids is pretty different than what others do for you. There seems to be an unwritten law that when someone does a favour to you, you somehow need to return it with a favour. But when it comes to parents, this law does not apply. All that matters is your little one to be happy.

    I think you also pointed on something less known with the father’s letter -by the way, the pen-pal being her dad was really great surprise! All he wants is to keep the communication. Nothing more. Not even a complaint, maybe, about her not visiting him often. I guess parents miss those days when kids are little, because they spend most of the time with parents. As they grow older, they spend more time outside; school, other social events with friends, etc. Then they either move out for the college, for marriage, etc. The level of communication decreases in terms of time and quality. That’s what parents miss the most, I guess.

    Your story is GOOD.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      December 27, 2013 at 12:02 pm

      I’m glad I managed to capture the heart of a parent. And though I’m not a parent (yet), I completely agree with you.
      The importance of always being a family no matter where we are in life is something everyone should know and practice.

      Thank you so much, and thank you for leaving a comment :)

       
  10. smriti98

    December 29, 2013 at 12:42 pm

    I absolutely loved this post. Every Thursday, I look forward to reading your stories because it gives me too much happiness. :D :D Thank you for another moving post :)

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      December 29, 2013 at 6:14 pm

      Thank you! I’m so happy you feel that way :D And thank you for reading every time I put up a story :)

       
  11. fictionalcreation

    December 30, 2013 at 3:17 pm

    This is a really sweet and heart-warming story. Thank you!

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      December 30, 2013 at 3:25 pm

      And thank YOU for reading :)

       
  12. youyisi

    December 30, 2013 at 5:15 pm

    This was a lovely story, really well written. After seeing ‘love, Dad’ I did a double take, not what I was expecting :)

     
  13. mrbuttonsmanz

    December 30, 2013 at 9:04 pm

    Jeyna, mommy says your story about made her cry! what a lovely story, and an even lovelier reveal at the end.

    I wish I had thumbs, then I could write letters to my daddy. As I do not though, I try to communicate daily with him by laying on his chest so I can feel his heart beat and feel his chest rise and fall with me on top of it. It makes me purr so much knowing that I get to be so close to him.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      December 30, 2013 at 9:40 pm

      Aw, thank you! I’m happy I made your mommy teary eyed :)

      I’m sure your daddy knows how much you love him by just lying on his chest. I bet he likes it too :)

       
      • mrbuttonsmanz

        December 30, 2013 at 10:24 pm

        I love having special bonding time with mommy and with daddy. I really love it when they are laying close enough together so that I can sprawl over both of them!!! That means four hands to pet me!!! :)

         
        • Jeyna Grace

          December 30, 2013 at 10:40 pm

          Haha, I bet you do! I wish I had a kitty like you :)

           
          • mrbuttonsmanz

            December 31, 2013 at 8:50 pm

            Visit your local animal shelter or pound. There are so many furkids that need forever homes. It breaks my heart when an animal is put down just because he/she is an older animal, or isn’t the prettiest, or has some sort of disability. :(

            I’m lucky that daddy and mommy didn’t pass me by just because I can’t hear. I try to give them extra kisses every day just to say thank you.

             
          • Jeyna Grace

            December 31, 2013 at 9:31 pm

            I would like to, but no animals are allowed in my home. Sighs* It’s a very kind thing of your mommy and daddy to take you in.

             
  14. littleonionwrites

    December 31, 2013 at 4:40 am

    This is a beautiful story :)

     
  15. biahelvetti

    December 31, 2013 at 4:16 pm

    Hi Jeyna, what a lovely story :) I hope your Christmas was truly blessed. Thankyou for your support of my filk music this year, your comments are always lovely and very much appreciated. Please accept this award: http://childoftheisland.wordpress.com/2013/12/31/last-minute-gifts-and-blessings/ as a small token of thanks for your brilliant blog and your support. Many blessings for the New Year, Bia :)

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      December 31, 2013 at 4:23 pm

      Thank you! You too :D

      Aw, thanks so much! I really appreciate this award, on top of your comments and support too :) I hope you have a wonderful 2014!

       
  16. gilvania gil

    December 31, 2013 at 6:49 pm

    Follow you, follow me?
    I’m from Brazil, I loved your blog

    http://gilvaniagil.com/

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      December 31, 2013 at 7:07 pm

      I don’t really practice that :) But I’ll definitely check out your blog. Very unique name by the way!

       
  17. TheBlackWallflower

    January 1, 2014 at 10:21 pm

    I love this post. Perhaps because I’ve always wanted to have a penpal and recieve letters.
    It’s really beautiful. Keep up the good work. :)

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      January 2, 2014 at 9:16 am

      Thank you! I’ve always wanted the same thing too :)

       
  18. funandbaubles

    January 2, 2014 at 12:11 pm

    Jeyna, thanks so much for the wonderful sweet story about your father!

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      January 2, 2014 at 12:59 pm

      Thanks for reading :) It’s actually a fictional story, but it does relate to my year.

       
  19. thepurplesatchel

    January 4, 2014 at 6:06 am

    What a lovely story and I really like your writing style.

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      January 4, 2014 at 10:45 am

      Thank you, I’m glad you do :D

       
  20. bethxoxdoesxoxbeauty

    January 16, 2014 at 4:06 am

    Hey great story btw I have began writing stories on my own blog check em out!!!

     
  21. nirvanaamjad

    April 10, 2014 at 7:52 pm

    This story is so touching! :D Is it real?

     
    • Jeyna Grace

      April 10, 2014 at 8:06 pm

      Based on real experiences but rewritten in a fictional setting :D

       

Leave your thoughts

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,150 other followers

